Direct Restore to Microsoft Azure | VeeamPN software-defined networking
Post Reply
philippe.berthot
Veeam Software
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 22, 2018 3:30 pm
Full Name: Philippe Berthot
Contact:

OS SID when restore to Azure

Post by philippe.berthot » Aug 22, 2018 12:36 pm

Hey,

A customer asked me if the server OS sid is changed during the restore operation into Azure.

I did not find the answer in the Helpcenter or forum, I cannot test it, does someone tested it ?

Thanks,
Philippe

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1439 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: OS SID when restore to Azure

Post by veremin » Aug 24, 2018 3:01 pm

Could you elaborate on your question a bit? Will a restored machine have new SID, once you re-join it to domain? Yes, it will, as re-joining machine to domain results in new SID being assigned. Thanks.

philippe.berthot
Veeam Software
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 22, 2018 3:30 pm
Full Name: Philippe Berthot
Contact:

Re: OS SID when restore to Azure

Post by philippe.berthot » Aug 27, 2018 7:16 am

Hey Vladirmir,

Thank you for your answer.
I can ask the customer for more info on why is he asking this.

Actually, your answer is ok for me. The newly VM restored in Azure and joined to the AD/domain will have a new SID. This make sense and I will provid the info to the customer.

BR's,
Philippe

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1439 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: OS SID when restore to Azure

Post by veremin » Aug 27, 2018 8:06 pm

Got it, should he need a different information or should he ask a different question, feel free to post it here. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jvl and 1 guest