Direct Restore to Microsoft Azure | VeeamPN software-defined networking
Post Reply
asdffdsa6131
Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 30, 2018 9:03 pm
Contact:

site appliance, need hyperv VHD file, not vmware .ova file

Post by asdffdsa6131 » May 28, 2019 4:29 pm

hello,
where is the .vhd file, for the site appliance.
veeampn 1.x did not offer a .vhd file, which never made any sense.
given that veeampn runs just fine in azure, why cannot you offer a vhd???

i was hoping that veeam 2.x would have a site appliance that would be in vhd format.

plesae advise?

thanks

IGolovenko
Veeam Software
Posts: 8
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jul 31, 2018 12:37 pm
Full Name: Ilya Golovenko
Contact:

Re: site appliance, need hyperv VHD file, not vmware .ova file

Post by IGolovenko » May 28, 2019 7:32 pm 1 person likes this post

Hello.

Currently Veeam PN appliance is not available in Hyper-V format, but you can try to convert OVF/OVA into VHD using free V2V converter from StarWind: https://www.starwindsoftware.com/starwind-v2v-converter

asdffdsa6131
Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 30, 2018 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: site appliance, need hyperv VHD file, not vmware .ova file

Post by asdffdsa6131 » May 29, 2019 1:30 pm

so when will veeam upload a vhd file, instead of the ova?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2618
Liked: 539 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: site appliance, need hyperv VHD file, not vmware .ova file

Post by nielsengelen » May 29, 2019 1:35 pm 1 person likes this post

There are no plans for a VHD file. As mentioned, you can convert the solution with StarWind V2V converter which is the most popular one.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

asdffdsa6131
Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 30, 2018 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: site appliance, need hyperv VHD file, not vmware .ova file

Post by asdffdsa6131 » May 29, 2019 8:42 pm

i do not understand your logic but I thank you for your help in this and other posts.

alesovodvojce
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Nov 29, 2016 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: site appliance, need hyperv VHD file, not vmware .ova file

Post by alesovodvojce » Jul 15, 2019 11:00 am

No advice from here was working for me, as Veeam's OVA file is full VM packed in one file, but the converters need the actual VM harddisk file on input only.
That is no go for Starwinds and other converters.

To use Veeam PN on Hyper-V platform, you need to perform these steps:
  1. download Oracle VirtualBox and install its core (so without networking, without usb support etc as you will need only its libraries for conversion)
  2. import the OVA file (this should unwrap the OVA to VDI file. Remember which directory it was imported to. There will be also the VDI file that you are hunting for!)
  3. go to its folder, which should be c:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox
  4. run VBoxManage.exe clonehd --format vhd [sourceVDIfilePath] [targetVHDfilePath]
  5. create new Hyper-v Guest (Generation 1, 1GB RAM, 2vCPUs, Legacy Network adapter) and connect that VHD to it on IDE controller
  6. done. Btw console login to that VM is root/VeeamPN (username/password)

alesovodvojce
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Nov 29, 2016 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: site appliance, need hyperv VHD file, not vmware .ova file

Post by alesovodvojce » Jul 15, 2019 12:12 pm

to get networking ready, here is what I did (linux pro will do it better for sure:)
nano /etc/netplan/01-netcfg.yaml
add these lines to the end
[yourNetworkAdapterName]:
dhcp4: yes
So I have
enp0s10f0:
dhcp4: yes

issue command
netplan apply
Done. in ifconfig you should see ip address assigned and you can ping outside the world.

Other things I did - probably wont have effect to getting network working. So rather for evidence.
A label "enp0s10f0" is my network interface (don't know why this weird name) so change it for yours, probably "eth0"

# list all network interfaces
ifconfig -a

nano /etc/network/interfaces
# added lines to the end
auto enp0s10f0
iface enp0s10f0 inet dhcp

# list network hardware
lshw -C network

# turn the network adapter on (was DISABLED)
ifconfig enp0s10f0 up

# list hyperv modules in kernel
lsmod | grep hv

# hv_netvsc was missing among other Hyper-V support things, so I have added them using
nano /etc/initramfs-tools/modules

# added lines to the end
hv_vmbus
hv_netvsc

update-initramfs -u

asdffdsa6131
Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 30, 2018 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: site appliance, need hyperv VHD file, not vmware .ova file

Post by asdffdsa6131 » Jul 18, 2019 3:13 pm

thanks for veeampn, but really this is insane, not to have a ready to go hyper-v files.

i have not been able to convert the ova to hyper-v and i see that others have the same problem.

at work we use hyper-v, know nothing about vmware.
at work, we use microsoft windows, no nothing about linux, ubunutu and so on.

when will veeam releae a ready to go, veeampn for hyper-v???

thanks much,
david

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2618
Liked: 539 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: site appliance, need hyperv VHD file, not vmware .ova file

Post by nielsengelen » Jul 18, 2019 9:05 pm

There are currently no plans to release this as mentioned before. The easiest way, for now, is to install a Linux machine and leverage the installation guide.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

alesovodvojce
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Nov 29, 2016 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: site appliance, need hyperv VHD file, not vmware .ova file

Post by alesovodvojce » Aug 22, 2019 11:48 am

alesovodvojce wrote:
Jul 15, 2019 11:00 am
No advice from here was working for me, as Veeam's OVA file is full VM packed in one file, but the converters need the actual VM harddisk file on input only.
That is no go for Starwinds and other converters.

To use Veeam PN on Hyper-V platform, you need to perform these steps:
  1. download Oracle VirtualBox and install its core (so without networking, without usb support etc as you will need only its libraries for conversion)
  2. .....
This way finally does not work either. The problem is that after VMware->HyperV conversion, VeeamPN refuses to launch one of its linux services.

I have recieved some needed (and free) effort from Veeam's Ilia Korsakov. His comment
I've been testing this for a while and noticed that changing /etc/netplan/01-netcfg.yaml rules prior to migrating this virtual machine to the Hyper-V environment (which you find as a possible solution as well):

network:
version: 2
renderer: networkd
ethernets:
enp0s3:
dhcp4: yes

network:
version: 2
renderer: networkd
ethernets:
eth0:
dhcp4: yes

but it of course still requires some Linux knowledge.


But, in order to do this, you will need to install VMware player (free). And after going through instructions above, then then continue with my checklist.
I have not tried the whole path. More effective way is to install Linux VM from image (our was "Ubuntu 18.04LTS mini") and then do command-line VeeamPN install.

That two steps took far less time than all conversions/fixes would.

IGolovenko
Veeam Software
Posts: 8
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jul 31, 2018 12:37 pm
Full Name: Ilya Golovenko
Contact:

Re: site appliance, need hyperv VHD file, not vmware .ova file

Post by IGolovenko » Aug 26, 2019 5:27 am

OVA file in reality is just a plain TAR archive containing all the OVF files, including VM's hard disk file. You can change extension of OVA file and then use any archiver to extract the hard disk file.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest