Direct Restore to Microsoft Azure | VeeamPN software-defined networking
Post Reply
mrholm
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 20, 2018 8:12 am
Full Name: Mats Holm
Contact:

Veeam Backup in Azure and Copy to on-premise?

Post by mrholm » Sep 19, 2018 9:04 am

Hi
A lot of threads talk about copy to Azure but have anyone setup a situation as follows:
- Setup a Veeam B&R server in Azure with BLOB storage
- Backup Azure server to this Veeam B&R server using Veem agents
- Setup secondary backup copy to on-premise using existent StoreOnce catalyst

Can this be done? Any suggestions on th esetup ? What ports need to be opened?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16666
Liked: 1390 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup in Azure and Copy to on-premise?

Post by veremin » Sep 19, 2018 7:21 pm

Besides BLOB part (not supported yet) everything should work fine. Just:

- Setup backup server in Azure
- Backup Azure server to the backup server
- Deploy a Windows-based server close to StoreOnce device
- Add it to the backup server
- Add StorOnce device as a backup repository, using the Windows server as gateway server

As to ports requirements, check this section of our User Guide (pay attention to ports that need to be open between backup server and backup repository).

Also, Veeam PN with its ability to create site-to-site VPN might come quire handy in your case.

Thanks.

mrholm
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 20, 2018 8:12 am
Full Name: Mats Holm
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup in Azure and Copy to on-premise?

Post by mrholm » Sep 20, 2018 8:52 am

Great and thanks
One question; why set up a gateway server on-premise then we need WAN accelerator to minimize traffic. Why not use the Azure Backup server as Gateway and write in Catalyst low bandwitdh mode?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16666
Liked: 1390 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup in Azure and Copy to on-premise?

Post by veremin » Sep 20, 2018 9:29 am

To communicate with the device, backup server uses two data movers that are responsible for data processing and transfer. Data movers are located on:

- the backup proxy (by default on backup server)
- the gateway server

Without on-premise gateway server, the second datamover will be executed on the backup server, which will lead to the traffic being sent in uncompressed and undeduplicated state over WAN.

Thanks!

mrholm
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 20, 2018 8:12 am
Full Name: Mats Holm
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup in Azure and Copy to on-premise?

Post by mrholm » Sep 20, 2018 12:13 pm

Hi
OK, a Little more info from me:
The backup server in Azure will have it's own Catalyst Store and will be Gateway for that store mening that data sent over WAN are using Catalyst API to send in deduplicated format. We use this way today for all our remote sites.

//Mats

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16666
Liked: 1390 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup in Azure and Copy to on-premise?

Post by veremin » Sep 20, 2018 12:16 pm

If you find this scenario reliable performance-wise, you can stick to it, of course. Thanks!

mrholm
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 20, 2018 8:12 am
Full Name: Mats Holm
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup in Azure and Copy to on-premise?

Post by mrholm » Sep 20, 2018 2:00 pm

Thanks a lot, we'll set this up and give it a try and I'll get back in this thread with info

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest