Direct Restore to Microsoft Azure | VeeamPN software-defined networking
Post Reply
rcarlson510
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 27, 2017 10:27 pm
Full Name: Richard Carlson
Contact:

Veeam PN appliance deploys to an almost blank console

Post by rcarlson510 » Aug 08, 2017 5:51 pm

Hi Veeam people! Hopefully you can be marginally more helpful than the lack of phone support for this product. I've deployed this product 3 times now, every time having the same issue. We deploy the appliance into azure, set up everything we can correctly to that point. We are then able to access the appliance via it's public IP address. We are able to see that tabs on the left column for settings and such, but each of the tabs takes you to a blank page. The links at the bottom left to set up Azure connections or to modify certain settings also are inoperable. I've deployed to different regions, different subnets, accessed via different computers, locations, OS', etc. It's always the same blank page that it deploys to. I called phone support and they forwarded me here, so hopefully someone can help.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15227
Liked: 1146 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam PN appliance deploys to an almost blank console

Post by v.Eremin » Aug 09, 2017 5:09 pm

Hi, Richard, this is a known issue. We plan to release a fix soon. Thanks.

AVasilyev
Veeam Software
Posts: 50
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam PN appliance deploys to an almost blank console

Post by AVasilyev » Aug 09, 2017 5:34 pm 2 people like this post

Hi Richard!

Thank you for your patience!
Could you please replace file app.js from the following package https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2fqqt ... nFVM29jYWs to fix the issue

To apply the fix you should:
  • copy file app.js to VeeamPN appliance using SCP/WinSCP
  • connect to remote SSH terminal at your VeeamPN appliance using ssh/putty
  • and replace app.js file at /var/www/html/ directory running following command mv /path/to/fixed/app.js /var/www/html
Thank you,
Alexey

rcarlson510
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 27, 2017 10:27 pm
Full Name: Richard Carlson
Contact:

Re: Veeam PN appliance deploys to an almost blank console

Post by rcarlson510 » Aug 09, 2017 6:30 pm

Yep, I'll give that a try, thanks.

anthonyspiteri79
Veeam Software
Posts: 296
Liked: 41 times
Joined: Jan 14, 2016 6:48 am
Full Name: Anthony Spiteri
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Re: Veeam PN appliance deploys to an almost blank console

Post by anthonyspiteri79 » Aug 13, 2017 1:37 am

Hey there Richard...did Alexey's fix work for you? Also baring in mind that Veeam PN is still in RC with the GA not too far away...hence some of your initial issues. That said it's been rock solid for myself and others...hope you are enjoying it now.

Thanks
Anthony
Anthony Spiteri
Global Technologist, Product Strategy | VMware vExpert
Email: anthony.spiteri@veeam.com | Mobile: +61488335699
Twitter: @anthonyspiteri | Skype: anthony_spiteri

isi_man
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 04, 2017 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam PN appliance deploys to an almost blank console

Post by isi_man » Oct 04, 2017 10:00 pm

Hello,
I too am having this problem with the AZ appliance spun up a couple of days ago.
I have tried AVasilyev's fix with the app.js file (and a restart of the vm), however that has not solved the problem.

Is there anything else I would need to do?

Thank you

anthonyspiteri79
Veeam Software
Posts: 296
Liked: 41 times
Joined: Jan 14, 2016 6:48 am
Full Name: Anthony Spiteri
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Re: Veeam PN appliance deploys to an almost blank console

Post by anthonyspiteri79 » Oct 11, 2017 2:43 pm

isi_man wrote:Hello,
I too am having this problem with the AZ appliance spun up a couple of days ago.
I have tried AVasilyev's fix with the app.js file (and a restart of the vm), however that has not solved the problem.

Is there anything else I would need to do?
Strange that it's still there...that fix should do the trick...at this stage it's worth holding off for the GA. There should be some news about this sooner rather than later!
Anthony Spiteri
Global Technologist, Product Strategy | VMware vExpert
Email: anthony.spiteri@veeam.com | Mobile: +61488335699
Twitter: @anthonyspiteri | Skype: anthony_spiteri

isi_man
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 04, 2017 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam PN appliance deploys to an almost blank console

Post by isi_man » Oct 11, 2017 9:06 pm

Hi there Anthony,
this was a case of user error - I am sure that the console would have been fine if I hadn't stuffed the user names up when creating it.
I had then assigned another admin user to the machine using Azure console and logged in - this alternate user caused it to break the screens - they were probably fine all along.

In hindsight - don't add a user to it and don't make typos!

Cheers!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest