Veeam Virtual Machine/Appliance in Azure Gov't Cloud

Direct Restore to Microsoft Azure | Free, secure file copy for Microsoft Azure VMs

Veeam Virtual Machine/Appliance in Azure Gov't Cloud

Veeam Logoby rsok » Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:52 pm

Would like to make a request to add Veeam virtual machine/appliance to the Azure Government cloud.
rsok
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 6:04 pm
Full Name: Ravy Sok

Re: Veeam Virtual Machine/Appliance in Azure Gov't Cloud

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Sun Jun 18, 2017 8:01 pm

Current we do not support sovereign Azure Clouds such as Germany, China, Government, etc. However, such support is on our radar, so thanks for the feedback.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13543
Liked: 1002 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam Virtual Machine/Appliance in Azure Gov't Cloud

Veeam Logoby wosi89 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:25 am

Can you tell when Veeam will be available in Azure Cloud Germany?
wosi89
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:40 am
Full Name: Steve Lang

Re: Veeam Virtual Machine/Appliance in Azure Gov't Cloud

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:17 am

Steve,

We are actively looking into this, but I can't promise a date yet. Our Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 will be the first to support these regions, and the other solutions will follow after that

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3340
Liked: 379 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

[MERGED] Restore to Azure Government

Veeam Logoby Josh123 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 10:05 pm

Hi - just an FYI for some and a request.

Could we please add functionality to enable restore to Azure for Government? It doesn't work at all currently. You can log in with your Azure Government account in Veeam but it wont pull up any resources. I can restore just fine to a public Azure account.

I feel like it would be a fairly simple thing to change, just a couple tweaks to the API calls.

Thanks
Josh
Josh123
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 5:38 am
Full Name: Josh

Re: Veeam Virtual Machine/Appliance in Azure Gov't Cloud

Veeam Logoby Josh123 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 10:06 pm

FYI you can just spin up a Windows box and install Veeam. That's what we're doing. Note that restore to azure doesn't work if your target is an Azure Government account. (Basing this of testing in the US)
Josh123
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 5:38 am
Full Name: Josh

Re: Restore to Azure Government

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:22 am

Hi Josh, did you contact support in regards to this? This way we can look into why it isn't working. If so could you mention the support case ID for future references?
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1581
Liked: 348 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Veeam Virtual Machine/Appliance in Azure Gov't Cloud

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:27 am

Note that restore to azure doesn't work if your target is an Azure Government account. (Basing this of testing in the US)

Josh.

Correct. That will be fixed in later updates so that the authentication against those Government accounts works also

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3340
Liked: 379 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Restore to Azure Government

Veeam Logoby Josh123 » Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:00 pm

Support ID: 02339077

I just created the ticket. We encountered the issue a while back while working with sales on a proof of concept, we're revisiting our DR/offsite capabilities again and hoping its on the radar for the next update or even a special patch. We have multiple agencies that would like to be able to restore to Azure in a DR scenario or for testing but are stuck without Azure Government support.
Josh123
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 5:38 am
Full Name: Josh

Re: Restore to Azure Government

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Oct 10, 2017 5:20 am

Josh,

Thanks for creating a support call. I'm afraid that restoring to Azure Government (DoD or non-DoD?) won't work. We are aware of this but it requires a bit more than a couple of tweaks to the API calls. In further updates we will start supporting different regions such as the Germany/ China/ DoD and non-DoD regions. I can't give you any date at this moment though when exactly it will be supported, but it is coming.
Cheers
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3340
Liked: 379 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler


Return to Veeam Tools for Microsoft Azure



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests