Simplify and orchestrate VPN networking and configuration tasks.
Post Reply
alesovodvojce
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Nov 29, 2016 10:09 pm
Contact:

Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by alesovodvojce »

So I do not mean Azure...

If yes, please could you share exactly what
1) Ubuntu version you have used and where it was downloaded from
2) What Hyper-V host Windows version you are using

As I am struggling for 6 months at least to get Veeampn running realiably.

Our Veeampn connection regularly become dead after some days of work (3-8 days so far) and only restart of whole guest or both guests will fix that. What exactly will happen (any of that)
- veeeampn server port 1194 will stop listening, or will listen but "telnet server 1194" will not result any greeting binary message (as opposed to working state)
- veeampn klient will stop trying to connect to the server (but the server seems working and "telnet server 1194" shows binary greeting msg
- and today new thing, my workaround of regular "/sbin/reboot" has failed on both guests together stating "failed to talk to init daemon". More to that, Veeampn conf on client seems to be reset - after I loaded it again from backup, via Veeampn GUI, it was fixed

We have tried latest Ubuntu LTS distro on both sides (downloaded from Ubuntu), Veeampn scripted install, same failing results.
We have tried latest Ubuntu LTS distro on both sides (Microsoft version, used from latest Windows 10 Linux tools), Veeampn scripted install, same failing results.
We are running Windows server 2016 Std (version 1607) on both hosts.

For us this failures are really a headache, as we use many other linux boxes on our Hyperv platform without any problems for years.
Looking forward for your replies on point 1) and 2)

Petr

chris.arceneaux
Veeam Software
Posts: 235
Liked: 117 times
Joined: Jun 24, 2019 1:39 pm
Full Name: Chris Arceneaux
Location: Kentucky, USA
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by chris.arceneaux »

Hi Petr,

System Requirements for deploying Veeam PN in an on-premises network is VMware vSphere ESXi host/cluster 5.0 оr later (hardware version 8 and later). While Veeam PN may work in Hyper-V, it's not listed as a supported hypervisor.

If you mete with success running Veeam PN in Hyper-V, please share your configuration in this thread. This will help the community and might lead to Veeam PN on Hyper-V being supported in the future.

alesovodvojce
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Nov 29, 2016 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by alesovodvojce »

If anyone in the future will get here and say something like "yes we use it", go ahead. Your message will give courage to us.

asdffdsa6131
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Sep 30, 2018 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by asdffdsa6131 »

hello,

i run veeampn on two hyperv servers for about 6+ months and has proven to be very reliable for me.

yes it is very frustrating that veeampn does not supply a hyperv image given that veaampn supports azure.
but please keep in mind that veeampn is FREE and there are two workarounds that are supported.

if i understand you correctly, you have hade issues with the install script.
have you tried this as it worked for me?
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/veeam ... tml?ver=21

1. ubuntu 10.04 server edition.
2. windows 2019 hyper-v - which is free from micro$oft

let me know if you have any questions.

AVasilyev
Veeam Software
Posts: 70
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by AVasilyev »

Hi David!

Can we share with you a test version of Hyper-V appliance which we prepared for VeeamPN 2.1?
We would like to know your opinion on the way we implemented it

Thank you,
Alexey

asdffdsa6131
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Sep 30, 2018 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by asdffdsa6131 »

you wrote "both guests", does that mean that you have two veeampn on the same hyperv server?
can you tell me more about that?
so one of them is the hub and what is the role of the other guest, a site-to-site or client?

i would like to help but i know little about linux.
all i did was install the ubuntu 18.04 server edition from ubuntu website and then followed the instructions as provided by veeam.
my hub is hosted in azure.

alesovodvojce
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Nov 29, 2016 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by alesovodvojce »

We have already 4 days uptime of Veeampn. Not a maximum, cannot consider that working, but will keep you updated (fresh install on Ubuntu LTS 18.04 server, from Veeampn repo).

@asdffdsa6131 one guest on HQ, another on DR site. Site-to-site configuration (the veeampn guest in DR site acts as vpn server, the guest on HQ connects to it). Trying now Ubuntu server instead of Ubuntu (desktop), maybe that was clear from beginning, not for me from the documentation

@nielsengelen would like to opt-in too

asdffdsa6131
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Sep 30, 2018 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by asdffdsa6131 »

i used ubuntu server, as it does not have gui/desktop and uses less resources.

i used windows server 2019 hyperv edition, as that is free, does not have a gui/desktop and uses less resources.

i have the client on my laptop and use it every day, never a problem.

asdffdsa6131
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Sep 30, 2018 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by asdffdsa6131 » 1 person likes this post

note:
i run both vm as gen1, not gen2

asdffdsa6131
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Sep 30, 2018 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by asdffdsa6131 »

this is the iso i used.
ubuntu-18.04.3-live-server-amd64.iso

alesovodvojce
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Nov 29, 2016 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by alesovodvojce »

we use gen2, this might be the cause. Now using gen2 with static RAM, even though ubuntu should support dynamic

asdffdsa6131
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Sep 30, 2018 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by asdffdsa6131 »

i use dynamic.

there are big differences between gen1 and gen2 in terms of networking support.
gen1 uses a legacy network adapter

also, i have a veeampn in azure, and azure is gen1 only.

alesovodvojce
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Nov 29, 2016 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by alesovodvojce »

ok i was afraid that legacy network adapter cannot hit over 100mbps limit. our ambition is more than that.
will see how long will be this new veeampn installation stable. will keep you updated here...

asdffdsa6131
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Sep 30, 2018 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by asdffdsa6131 »

i setup a gen2.
i will do some testing and see what happens.

asdffdsa6131
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Sep 30, 2018 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by asdffdsa6131 » 1 person likes this post

did some network testing.
seems that gen1 is not slower then gen2

gen1
----------------------------------
user01@veeampn01-home:~$ speedtest-cli
Retrieving speedtest.net configuration...
Testing from Verizon Fios (100.1.63.176)...
Retrieving speedtest.net server list...
Selecting best server based on ping...
Hosted by Pilot (New York, NY) [18.79 km]: 5.841 ms
Testing download speed................................................................................
Download: 612.16 Mbit/s
Testing upload speed................................................................................................
Upload: 534.67 Mbit/s
user01@veeampn01-home:~$ fast
-> 828.17 Mbps
--------------------------------------

gen2
-------------------------------------
user01@veeampn-ubuntu-gen2:~$ speedtest-cli
Retrieving speedtest.net configuration...
Testing from Verizon Fios (100.1.63.176)...
Retrieving speedtest.net server list...
Selecting best server based on ping...
Hosted by QTS Data Centers (Jersey City, NJ) [14.77 km]: 6.99 ms
Testing download speed................................................................................
Download: 814.15 Mbit/s
Testing upload speed................................................................................................
Upload: 551.10 Mbit/s
user01@veeampn-ubuntu-gen2:~$ fast
-> 838.60 Mbps
------------------------------

atakacs
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 10, 2012 8:26 pm
Full Name: Alexandre Takacs
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by atakacs »

Ok probably a dumb question but I started off the OVA / VMDK and converted to VHD.

The VM would boot but does not seem to see a NIC (Tried running it as gen1 VM with legacy NIC).

What am I missing ? Should I deploy an Ubuntu VM from scratch and then use the setup script ?

Image

asdffdsa6131
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Sep 30, 2018 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by asdffdsa6131 »

hi and that is a good question.

a long time ago i tried to convert the ova to .vhd but ran into a bunch of problems.

i suggest:
1. create a hyperv vm, 2GB dynamic ram. i have created both gen1 and recently i created a gen2.
2. install Ubuntu Server 18.04.3 LTS from https://ubuntu.com/download/server
2. run the veeampn install script.
3. let me know if you have any questions.
4. live long and prosper

atakacs
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 10, 2012 8:26 pm
Full Name: Alexandre Takacs
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by atakacs »

Hi
1. create a hyperv vm, 2GB dynamic ram. i have created both gen1 and recently i created a gen2.
2. install Ubuntu Server 18.04.3 LTS from https://ubuntu.com/download/server
2. run the veeampn install script.
3. let me know if you have any questions.
4. live long and prosper
Did just that and it went flawlessly - happily running Veeampn out of a HyperV box. Haven't done any load test but so far no problem whatsoever.

asdffdsa6131
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Sep 30, 2018 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by asdffdsa6131 »

did you use gen1 or gen2?

atakacs
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 10, 2012 8:26 pm
Full Name: Alexandre Takacs
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by atakacs »

gen1 - legacy NIC.

So far so good :)

alesovodvojce
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Nov 29, 2016 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by alesovodvojce » 1 person likes this post

So our problem seems solved now, Veeampn running almost a month without deadlocks.
Most possible problem solvers were Ubuntu server (instead of Ubuntu desktop) and static RAM (instead of dynamic).

Using Gen2 VM with 3GB static RAM. Perhaps VM generation number (1 or 2) is not relevant.

chris.arceneaux
Veeam Software
Posts: 235
Liked: 117 times
Joined: Jun 24, 2019 1:39 pm
Full Name: Chris Arceneaux
Location: Kentucky, USA
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by chris.arceneaux »

Great to hear! Thanks for reporting back your solution to the community!

bdaeumling
Veeam Software
Posts: 178
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Oct 06, 2016 3:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeampn - anybody running it on own Hyper-V?

Post by bdaeumling » 2 people like this post

I was playing around with Hyper-V the last days.
and here my steps in short:
After transforming the VM from VMware to Hyper-V there is only a console window showing up in the Hyper-V-Manager-console.
Login with "root" and "VeeamPN".
1.: set IP configuration with ifconfig (Use your own IP Settings ;-) )

ifconfig eth0 add 192.168.1.100 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255

configure Defaultgateway:
route add default gw 192.168.1.1
(check with route -n)

Add DNS:
Echo "nameserver 8.8.8.8"> /etc/resolv.conf

Restart / start the required Services:
service --status-all
Service apache2 restart
Service openvpn restart
Service console-setup.sh start

open webconsole and Access VeeamPN configuration page. works like a charm now with the "original" VMware VM.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests