VeeamPN - Routing additional networks

Direct Restore to Microsoft Azure | VeeamPN software-defined networking

VeeamPN - Routing additional networks

Veeam Logoby pmansfield » Tue Jun 12, 2018 1:24 pm

I have a VeeamPN Hub in Azure, and a VeeamPN Gateway onsite. In Azure, I have 10.200.0.0/24 network. On site I have 10.171.0.0/16 and 10.172.0.0/16. The Gateway is in the 10.171.0.0/16 network.

From either network onsite I can ping into the 10.200 Azure network. From the Hub or a machine in the Azure network I can only ping into the 10.171 network. The routing table on the Hub only has an entry for the 10.171 range, but manually adding a route for the 10.172 range but it hasn't helped. Is it possible to add another route like this?

Apologies if this is a networking 101 type of question - I don't have a lot of experience in configuring these things in Linux or Azure, so am trying to learn it as I go.

TIA :)
pmansfield
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 43
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:59 pm

Re: VeeamPN - Routing additional networks

Veeam Logoby pmansfield » Wed Jun 13, 2018 1:15 pm

I've correctly added the route to the onsite gateway and it can now ping the 10.171 and 10.172 networks. However I still can't figure out how to get the Azure Hub (and the Azure VMs) to route into the 10.172 network.

I don't want to have to setup separate gateways for every subnet, as I'm going to want to run a gaetway in a remote office with multiple subents and that will get unwieldy fast!
pmansfield
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 43
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:59 pm

Re: VeeamPN - Routing additional networks

Veeam Logoby AVasilyev » Wed Jun 13, 2018 5:10 pm

Dear pmansfield,

The easiest way how to fix this would be to add your site with the wider range for subnet, the one which would include both of the networks, but also would include some extra networks.
So for your two networks 10.171.0.0/16 and 10.172.0.0/16 the smallest union would be 10.168.0.0/13. It is going to include 8 b-class networks 10.168/16-10.175/16

If this is not applicable in your deployment - please make us know - we will find another workaround.

Alexey
AVasilyev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: VeeamPN - Routing additional networks

Veeam Logoby pmansfield » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:27 am

Thanks Alexey.

Unfortunately it's not a full solution, as I will also need to route additional ranges which are not covered by a contiguous netblock. I also need to connect other offices which don't have contiguous network ranges, so I do need to be able to route separate and defined ranges.

Phil.
pmansfield
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 43
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:59 pm


Return to Veeam Tools for Microsoft Azure



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests