Page 2 of 18

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Posted: May 24, 2011 8:03 pm
by Vitaliy S.
"Ignore application processing failure" option in action? :)

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Posted: May 24, 2011 8:49 pm
by pcrebe
My job is setup so:
Virtual Applicance Mode, Failover to network enabled
veeam VM linked throught vCenter
Reverse Incremental, Optimal, Local Target
Enable application-aware processing enabled
Advanced Require success troncate log

the same job is used for vCenter linked directly throught the host

For veeam VM it works BUT with the state of the job Failed (also if it was success)
For vCenter, to have success, i need disable Application-Aware

If i try an Istant Restore the veeam VM starts and the state of the job from who the Istant Restore works has the start time egual to the real start time but with the end time the time of the restorea and the message Task has failed unexpectedly.
I've got the same result with a replica job with the same config.

:?:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Posted: May 24, 2011 9:20 pm
by Gostev
pcrebe wrote:For veeam VM it works BUT with the state of the job Failed
This makes at all no sense? If the job status is Failed, then it means it does NOT work?

As for the Instant Restore problem (Task has failed unexpectedly), please contact support for troubleshooting, as this is unrelated to what is being discussed here, and needs to be troubleshoot separately. Thanks.

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Posted: May 24, 2011 9:46 pm
by pcrebe
Perhaps I expressed myself badly.

The backup job SUCCESS
The replica job SUCCESS
each has Enable application-aware enabled

if i start the replica the restarted VM_replica indicates the replica job as FAILED with the time like i wrote.
if i start an Istant Restore i've the same FAILED result for the backup job instead
each has Task has failed unexpectedly

sorry for my english but isn't my native language, i'd just like to undestand if the VSS works.
Thanks for your attention

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Posted: May 25, 2011 9:08 am
by Vitaliy S.
Carlo, in order not to guess anymore I would recommend contacting our support team so we could see this situation live. Also our tech guys would easily be able to determine whether VSS worked for your jobs or not.

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Posted: May 26, 2011 6:54 am
by ctchang
I've installed B&R 5.01 on a physical server, this is how I do the backup.

1. SQL 2008 R2 is running on the same server, it's where B&R store its data to as well, so I simply create a daily sql backup job around 1am.
2. Use the build-in Windows Backup Service to backup the entire server around 5am and keep for 14 days retention automatically.
3. Use Acronis Advanced Server to backup everything again around 6am and keep for 30 days retention automatically, oh...finally copy the Acronis backup file every once a month to a remote site just to double make sure.

So eventually I have three types of protection, I am pretty sure it won't fail this way!

In case the server fails, our Dell ProSupport 4 hours will kick in and replace the fail part or entire server within 1 hour normally. :D

I would say this is the easiest way to do it.

SQL database need backup?

Posted: Jun 07, 2011 3:07 am
by lywwing
[merged]

hi,
May I ask the veeam backup installed SQL database need backup or not? Cause my ARCserve need license to backup the SQL database, if I choose not to backup the veeam DB, what happen if I need restore whole veeam server without DB?
What information store in the DB? does it important?

Thanks

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Posted: Jun 07, 2011 8:00 am
by Alexey D.
Hello Ken,

All the settings, information on jobs, sessions, etc. is stored in B&R's database. So if you want to protect this data - you have to back it up. On contrary, B&R's installation doesn't necessarily have to be protected - if you lose it you can quickly deploy it and point to the existing database.

For further reading, you can start from this post of the current thread.

Best Practices to Backup Veeam B&R Server itself

Posted: Jun 16, 2011 10:06 am
by laxi
[merged]

Hi,
what is the best way to make a backup of the Veeam Backup&Replication Server?

If i make a normal Backup and the B&R Server crashes i need to install and configure a new B&R Server to get the backup back.
Should i replicate the B&R Server?

Or is there another way to backup the Servers configuration? (to import this configuration on an clean installed B&R Server)

Thanks

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Posted: Jun 16, 2011 12:10 pm
by flavor4real
Just to add to this post,

I'm planing to have a 2nd Veeam Backup Server setup where both Veeam Backup servers backing each other up. Each Veeam Backup Server is in a different cluster but because it is only one server from the other cluster that get's backed up, that cross-backing method should not show a decrease in data transfer-speed.

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Posted: Jun 16, 2011 2:37 pm
by davegold
In addition to the SQL server, is it important to back up VBR Catalog?

As you note, if you reinstall the server and do a fresh install of Veeam B&R, then the SQL server has the configuration. Assuming we'll just restore the full vbr' from tape (and ignore the incrementals), is there anything else we need to do?

Thanks,

Dave

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Posted: Jun 16, 2011 7:57 pm
by Vitaliy S.
Hi Dave,

Please check our F.A.Q. and this topic for the answer: Help about replication and SQL servers needed (nevermind the title)

Thanks.

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Posted: Jun 24, 2011 4:51 pm
by laxi
Hi,
the solution to install the SQL-Database on another VM is nice (the Veeam B&R Server could be restored quick and easy in the case of a failure).
But what happened if the SQL Database or the VM with the Database crashes? The Veeam B&R Server could not be used to restore the Database because of the Database is not available.

Wouldn't it be the best way to create a replica-Job for the Veeam B&R Server itself (the Database is on the Veeam B&R Server too)?
(I created a replication job. The log does not show errors, but I have not yet tested to start the replicated VM.)

Thank you

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Posted: Jun 24, 2011 6:51 pm
by larry
For a physical server I just run the bat file below to copy the Veeam database off

Code: Select all

@Echo Off

REM Set All=%date:~4,2%%date:~7,2%%date:~10,4%%
REM Use above to keep one every day for ever

Set All=%date:~7,2%
Rem Use above to keep just 30 days


REM Echo %ALL%
SQLCMD -S GR-VEEAM\VEEAM -E -Q "BACKUP DATABASE VeeamBackup TO DISK='G:\backup\VeeamBackupdb_%All%.bak' WITH FORMAT"

REM Echo GR-VEEAM\VEEAM -E -Q "BACKUP DATABASE VeeamBackup TO DISK='G:\backup\VeeamBackupdb_%All%.bak' WITH FORMAT"
Exit
The above SQLCMD gets installed with SQL express ( or any full MSSQL )

Just place in the task scheduler or chain to as post task of any ( all ) backup jobs. I am sending mine to a drive that is sent to tape. When I replaced my Veeam hardware I just imported the database in – full access to backups and replicas.


I also run the above bat on each VC, then I use Veeam to backup the VC VM. Just change the server/database name. You can also add %time to keep one everytime your run a Veeam replicate job to then backup the database,
Hope this helps someone :D

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Posted: Jun 27, 2011 8:53 am
by Vitaliy S.
laxi wrote:The Veeam B&R Server could not be used to restore the Database because of the Database is not available.
In this case, you should install a brand new backup server, import backup files and then restore SQL Server that crashed.
laxi wrote:Wouldn't it be the best way to create a replica-Job for the Veeam B&R Server itself (the Database is on the Veeam B&R Server too)?
Yes, this should also work.