Page 1 of 1

exclude specific path for replication or backup

Posted: Dec 16, 2017 7:21 pm
by baber
Dear all
Hi

1- in your document on page 373 said: we can exclude file or folder for backup or replication for example i want replicate my linux machine but i don't want replicate this path on my vm : /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
do i have to just add this path such as below pic :

https://ibb.co/ngtsAR

2- does file exclusion just work on Microsoft windows ?? not work on linux?

BR

Re: exclude specific path for replication or backup

Posted: Dec 17, 2017 9:00 pm
by PTide
Hi,

2. Correct, it does not work on Linux.

Thanks

Re: exclude specific path for replication or backup

Posted: Dec 18, 2017 5:39 am
by baber
how can exclude file or folder during backup or replication Linux VM on veeam ?? is there anyway ?

Re: exclude specific path for replication or backup

Posted: Dec 18, 2017 3:06 pm
by foggy
Only by placing it on a separate VM disk and excluding the entire disk.

Re: exclude specific path for replication or backup

Posted: Dec 18, 2017 3:12 pm
by baber
why veeam team not work and solutions for Linux VM
is that possible appear this feature on veeam 10.0 or can you suggest this to developer team ?

BR

Re: exclude specific path for replication or backup

Posted: Dec 18, 2017 3:38 pm
by PTide
As far as I understand the problem, you'd like to exclude /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 to prevent network issues due to the MAC address specified in the file (HWADDR), is that correct?

Thanks

Re: exclude specific path for replication or backup

Posted: Dec 18, 2017 4:56 pm
by baber
no
that path is just one of path want exclude also i want exclude
/usr/local/jboss6.0/bin/catalina.sh
/usr/local/nagios
.
.

why realy veeam team not work for linux vm solutions?

BR

Re: exclude specific path for replication or backup

Posted: Dec 19, 2017 5:55 pm
by PTide
New features are implemented based on demand. So, since we don't hear this feature being requested very often, it is not implemented yet. If you provide me with a more detailed description of files directories that you'd like to exclude and reasons why, then maybe I'll be able to come up with some workaround.

Thanks