Page 1 of 1

Evacuation of SOBR extent question

Veeam LogoPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 7:10 pm
by michaelryancook
I am evacuating an extent in an SOBR. I was expecting Veeam to use multiple extents as the target but it appears to select only one. The SOBR policy is set to performance. Am I misunderstanding something concerning the evacuation process?

Re: Evacuation of SOBR extent question

Veeam LogoPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 11:58 am
by foggy
Hi Michael, are you evacuating extent where full backups reside? Basically, evacuation uses the same logic as backup jobs, so the policy should be respected. However, there's a known issue where on evacuating extent with full backups, they could be placed on the same extent, where corresponding increments are already located. Among other reasons for the observed behavior are insufficient space on other extents to meet the performance policy or extent unavailability.

Re: Evacuation of SOBR extent question

Veeam LogoPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:16 pm
by michaelryancook
Hi Foggy. Thank you for the reply. There were full backups on these extents. That may have been the cause. Space was sufficient. I was hoping evacuation may have helped me balance my data across some new extents. I ended up moving the files manually and rescanning.

Re: Evacuation of SOBR extent question

Veeam LogoPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 10:58 am
by foggy
Yes, this seems to be it. This issue is going to be addressed in the next version.