Page 1 of 1

I cannot use my HP Ultrium LTO2 after upgrading to veeam 8

Veeam LogoPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 5:10 pm
by roberi
Hi

Before ver. 8 my LTO could load the tapes, not anymore.
When I try to Inventory I get an error:

2014-11-28 17:59:16 Processing started at den 28 november 2014 17:59:13
2014-11-28 17:59:20 Drive 1 (Drive ID: Tape1) locked successfully
2014-11-28 17:59:32 Error Failed to inventory tape in Drive 1 (Drive ID: Tape1) Error: Unknown MTF writer
2014-11-28 17:59:32 Error Completed with error at den 28 november 2014 17:59:32


In version 7 I got the same error but could see the tape and then do a erase. Now the Tape is not seen in Veeam.

Please advice!

Regards
Robert

Re: I cannot use my HP Ultrium LTO2 after upgrading to veeam

Veeam LogoPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 6:31 pm
by tsightler
Assuming this is a standalone drive I believe this is a known issue and that there is a hotfix available. You should contact technical support and they should be able to verify that this is the same issue and provide you with the fix.

Re: I cannot use my HP Ultrium LTO2 after upgrading to veeam

Veeam LogoPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 9:13 pm
by Dima P.
Hello,

You can use this KB articlce: Tape inventory fails with "Unknown MTF writer" error in case of standalone drives. The download link for a fix should be inside. Thank you.

Re: I cannot use my HP Ultrium LTO2 after upgrading to veeam

Veeam LogoPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:04 pm
by Gostev
Nevertheless, I'd like to point out that officially (as per System Requirements) we only support LTO3 or later tape libraries. Thanks!

Re: I cannot use my HP Ultrium LTO2 after upgrading to veeam

Veeam LogoPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 8:56 am
by roberi
Hi!

Thank you everyone! It now works!

Regards
Robert

Re: I cannot use my HP Ultrium LTO2 after upgrading to veeam

Veeam LogoPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 12:02 pm
by sebastian.mair
hello,

i had the same error with a tape library, a hp msl2024 with single lto5 drive. i also installed the hotfix and now backup to tape works again.

but i have a library, but it seems that this fix is for single drive only? so what´s the difference? i tried to erase all tapes, but the error was not gone.

so i tried to install the hotfix, no problems since that.

Re: I cannot use my HP Ultrium LTO2 after upgrading to veeam

Veeam LogoPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:41 pm
by Nueke2398
I have noticed the same issue with my inventories and backup jobs. I attempted to apply the hotfix, but it did not work. Any other suggestions?

Re: I cannot use my HP Ultrium LTO2 after upgrading to veeam

Veeam LogoPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:45 pm
by v.Eremin
The best way will be to notify support team about hotfix not solving problem and let them investigate it further. Thanks.

Re: I cannot use my HP Ultrium LTO2 after upgrading to veeam

Veeam LogoPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:46 pm
by sbbots
Same problem here with a HP Ultrium 4 SCSI LTO-4 drive and a brand new LTO tape. I can add the tape server to Veeam B&R v8.0, but the drive shows as "empty" even when there is a tape inserted. I installed the hotfix KB1967 and it did not fix the issue. This drive worked perfectly with v7.0.

Case #00695886

Re: I cannot use my HP Ultrium LTO2 after upgrading to veeam

Veeam LogoPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:30 pm
by Dima P.
Matt,

Thank you for the details! Please, continue to work with support team - I noticed they are awaiting for your response.