Page 1 of 1

LVM2 dependency debian jessie?

Posted: Jul 18, 2017 6:51 pm
by dreitexv
After downloading and installing the veeam debian package which adds the sources, I did an apt-get update and then apt-get install veeam, but it just complains that lvm2 isn't installed...

Code: Select all

veeam : Depends: lvm2 but it is not installable
But it is installed, just under a different package name. Is there a tar.gz package I could just unpack and try? Or perhaps, can I build this from source?

Thanks!

Re: LVM2 dependency debian jessie?

Posted: Jul 18, 2017 8:07 pm
by PTide
Hi,

What's your Debian version? Please also provide the name of your lvm package.

Thanks

Re: LVM2 dependency debian jessie?

Posted: Jul 18, 2017 8:44 pm
by vmniels
Can you post the output of dpkg -l | grep lvm as well?

Re: LVM2 dependency debian jessie?

Posted: Jul 19, 2017 1:42 pm
by dreitexv
It's Jessie, but has been customized by Caldera, sadly.
uname -r reports 3.16.0-4-amd64

There is a purely virtual lvm2 package.
But when I try to install it, it says E: Package 'lvm2' has no installation candidate

when I apt-cache search lvm2, I get:
initramfs-tools - generic modular initramfs generator
liblvm2app2.2 - LVM2 application library

I've installed both, to no avail.

Re: LVM2 dependency debian jessie?

Posted: Jul 19, 2017 2:08 pm
by PTide
but has been customized by Caldera, sadly.
Not sure if I heard of Caldera before. What is it?

Btw, have you tried to install veeam package with --force-all option?

Thank you

Re: LVM2 dependency debian jessie?

Posted: Jul 19, 2017 2:10 pm
by vmniels
Please show the output from your sources.list file. My guess is you are missing the default repo's hence the no installation candidate error/issue.

Re: LVM2 dependency debian jessie?

Posted: Jul 19, 2017 3:21 pm
by dreitexv
I checked that the default jessie sources are in tact, so that doesn't seem to be it. I'm still suspicious that Caldera (a graphics ripping software for industrial printing and things) did something else, but for now I was able to download the package using apt-get download and do a force-install. I'll try setting it up and see how that goes.