Page 1 of 1

Run Failover automatically if VM down

Posted: Jan 28, 2019 9:21 pm
by gian202b
Hello,
I've been doing a lot of research but have not been able to find a solid solution as of yet.

This is what I'd like to do. Based on Veeam ONE alarms - if VM looses connection for x amount of time I would like to run a script that would start the VAO failover. (I would add multiple checks in the Pre-Failover to make sure that the VM is really unreacheable)

I found on previous posts instructions on using Veeam ONE and powershell to run directly on VBR but I want to use VAO.
I also tried with using the VAO API but it's not running as smoothly as I'd like.

If anyone has any insight into this I'd appreciate the help.
Thanks

Re: Run Failover automatically if VM down

Posted: Jan 29, 2019 12:10 pm
by Oleg Patrakov
Hi
Welcome to our forums and to VAO :)

Actually, the only way to do it now would be to use APIs. And we are not planning to add any "auto-start" in the future, as it's an intricate matter and decision should be done on the user side, according to the processes used in the company.

Could you share what exactly are your struggles with VAO API? What is your VAO version?
Maybe I can help you pulling through them now on your version, or at least we can make some improvements for the next one.

Cheers,
Oleg

Re: Run Failover automatically if VM down

Posted: Jan 29, 2019 2:46 pm
by gian202b
Hi Oleg,
Thanks for your reply.

VAO version 1.0.0.895, which I believe is the latest.

Issues with API - I started looking into the swagger UI to understand exactly how they work, then moved to powershell and was able to login, get plan ids, enable and disable plans without an issue.

Once I tried running my test failover plan I would get an error while processing the replica VM stating "Object reference not set to an instance of an object." (Fails within seconds)
I also noticed that the plan report is a empty when this happens.

This is the body of the POST
{
"mode": "FailoverNow",
"planLaunchOptions": {
"restorePointRule": {
"date": "2019-01-29T14:41:11.749Z",
"mode": "NearestBefore"
},
"executeChainedPlans": true
}
}

Any insight you'd be able to give me would be appreciated.
Thanks

Re: Run Failover automatically if VM down

Posted: Jan 29, 2019 3:59 pm
by Alec King
Hi,
Thanks for the additional info. The errors you are getting from the VAO API are definitely not expected, and we'd like to investigate further.
Could you open a Veeam Support Case please?
Support team will gather all the logs and other info we need.
If you could post the support case ID here when you get it, that would help us connect with them faster.

Thanks in advance!

Re: Run Failover automatically if VM down

Posted: Jan 30, 2019 2:00 pm
by gian202b
Here is the Case info: Failover plan fails when run from VAO API - Case # 03387688
Based on first reply it seems as though it's an issue with an internal command not getting a variable it's expecting. They will be doing further investigation.
I will post a reply once solution has been determined.

Thanks

Re: Run Failover automatically if VM down

Posted: Jan 30, 2019 3:59 pm
by Alec King
Thanks! My R&D team are also investigating. Hope to have an answer for you soon!