2 veeam server 1 repository

VMware specific discussions

2 veeam server 1 repository

Veeam Logoby Sprite » Fri May 01, 2015 9:07 am

Hi

Can anyone advise if it is possible to use one respository server to receive backups from two independant veeam B&R servers.

we backup our data at our main data centre using a physical veeam B&R server with local disk acting at the repository (at our data centre). We also have a remote site (customer) with fast links that we wish to backup using veeam. We would then like to copy the customer's Veeam copy jobs to our main physical veeam server at the data centre.

Is there likely to be problem with one server acting as a repository for two veeam servers?

Thanks
Sprite
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 8:46 am
Full Name: Phil

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri May 01, 2015 9:42 am

Hi Phil!
One repository can be used by 2 VBR servers, so your plan can be implemented.
Also you can perform backups and backup copies for your customer using only your server.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4853
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Veeam Logoby Sprite » Fri May 01, 2015 9:51 am

That's great - many Thanks for the reply!
Cheers
Phil
Sprite
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 8:46 am
Full Name: Phil

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri May 01, 2015 12:29 pm

You are welcome, Phil!
Once you have a question, don`t hesitate asking!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4853
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Veeam Logoby alanbolte » Mon May 04, 2015 3:55 am

I'd just like to add the caveat that if the repository is added as a Windows server then the two backup servers must be kept at the same update level. For example, if both backup servers are running 8.0.0.917, and then one is upgraded to 8.0.0.2021 and pushes a component update to the repository, the other backup server will not be able to use that repository until it is also upgraded.
alanbolte
Expert
 
Posts: 635
Liked: 170 times
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 8:58 pm
Full Name: Alan Bolte

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 05, 2015 3:59 pm

Also, keep combined ingestion rate in mind, since different Veeam B&R servers will not be aware of each other.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14721
Liked: 1076 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] One Repo and Two B&R

Veeam Logoby lehbot » Wed May 06, 2015 9:52 am

Hello,

is it possible to use one repo on two B&R Servers ?
These two B&R Servers are on the same domain but for different purposes.
The B&R servers install some components on the repo and this is why i am asking. Do they assign the repo to only one B&R by installing these components ?

Regards
lehbot
Service Provider
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 8:49 am
Full Name: lehbot

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed May 06, 2015 9:55 am

Yes, this is possible. Just keep in mind considerations mentioned above. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14721
Liked: 1076 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: davidburke84, DGrinev, foggy and 32 guests