Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Sprite
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: May 01, 2015 8:46 am
Full Name: Phil
Contact:

2 veeam server 1 repository

Post by Sprite » May 01, 2015 9:07 am

Hi

Can anyone advise if it is possible to use one respository server to receive backups from two independant veeam B&R servers.

we backup our data at our main data centre using a physical veeam B&R server with local disk acting at the repository (at our data centre). We also have a remote site (customer) with fast links that we wish to backup using veeam. We would then like to copy the customer's Veeam copy jobs to our main physical veeam server at the data centre.

Is there likely to be problem with one server acting as a repository for two veeam servers?

Thanks

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6575
Liked: 649 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Post by Shestakov » May 01, 2015 9:42 am

Hi Phil!
One repository can be used by 2 VBR servers, so your plan can be implemented.
Also you can perform backups and backup copies for your customer using only your server.
Thanks!

Sprite
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: May 01, 2015 8:46 am
Full Name: Phil
Contact:

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Post by Sprite » May 01, 2015 9:51 am

That's great - many Thanks for the reply!
Cheers
Phil

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6575
Liked: 649 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Post by Shestakov » May 01, 2015 12:29 pm

You are welcome, Phil!
Once you have a question, don`t hesitate asking!

alanbolte
Expert
Posts: 635
Liked: 172 times
Joined: Jun 18, 2012 8:58 pm
Full Name: Alan Bolte
Contact:

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Post by alanbolte » May 04, 2015 3:55 am

I'd just like to add the caveat that if the repository is added as a Windows server then the two backup servers must be kept at the same update level. For example, if both backup servers are running 8.0.0.917, and then one is upgraded to 8.0.0.2021 and pushes a component update to the repository, the other backup server will not be able to use that repository until it is also upgraded.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17797
Liked: 1491 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Post by foggy » May 05, 2015 3:59 pm

Also, keep combined ingestion rate in mind, since different Veeam B&R servers will not be aware of each other.

lehbot
Service Provider
Posts: 12
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 14, 2015 8:49 am
Full Name: lehbot
Contact:

[MERGED] One Repo and Two B&R

Post by lehbot » May 06, 2015 9:52 am

Hello,

is it possible to use one repo on two B&R Servers ?
These two B&R Servers are on the same domain but for different purposes.
The B&R servers install some components on the repo and this is why i am asking. Do they assign the repo to only one B&R by installing these components ?

Regards

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17797
Liked: 1491 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Post by foggy » May 06, 2015 9:55 am

Yes, this is possible. Just keep in mind considerations mentioned above. Thanks.

tom_nl
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 02, 2018 9:13 am
Contact:

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Post by tom_nl » Jan 17, 2019 10:10 am

alanbolte wrote:
May 04, 2015 3:55 am
I'd just like to add the caveat that if the repository is added as a Windows server then the two backup servers must be kept at the same update level. For example, if both backup servers are running 8.0.0.917, and then one is upgraded to 8.0.0.2021 and pushes a component update to the repository, the other backup server will not be able to use that repository until it is also upgraded.
Is this still the same in version 9.5?
We would like to use a 1 proxy which has access to a CIFS share with multiple B&R servers.

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1599
Liked: 190 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Post by DGrinev » Jan 17, 2019 10:20 am

Yes, it's mandatory to keep both instances on the same version. Thanks!

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6575
Liked: 649 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Post by Shestakov » Jan 17, 2019 10:28 am

We would like to use a 1 proxy which has access to a CIFS share with multiple B&R servers.
Any objections against keeping backup servers equally updated?

tom_nl
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 02, 2018 9:13 am
Contact:

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Post by tom_nl » Jan 17, 2019 10:34 am

Any objections against keeping backup servers equally updated?
No, but eventually it may be 20+ B&R servers which use this gateway server, so updating them together at once may be a challenge.

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3471
Liked: 606 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 2 veeam server 1 repository

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jan 17, 2019 10:48 am

Important points!

proxy/gateway/Repository server/Target WAN accelerator can be used shared. Same version needed and ressources needed for all workloads.

But you can NOT backup to same folder from 2 B&R servers. So please create a folder at each repository for each source B&R server.

Otherwise you will have random failing jobs when backup files are blocked by other B&R server.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 27 guests