5.5 Update support

VMware specific discussions

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:27 am

Ok, you can create a separate thread to discuss it or contact our technical team for further collection session logs review.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Mar 20, 2014 12:37 pm

Rascii wrote:I upgraded our vCenter server yesterday and ESXi hosts today to 5.5.0 U1 and the Veeam Backups are working (version 7.0.0.839), but when I went to browse the Virtual Machines menu to make a ZIP backup of vCenter none of the VM's show up under either host. I have a third host that was not upgraded and is not managed by vCenter and the VM's do show up there. As long as my backups are working I'm fine waiting for Veeam to test U1 and release a patch if needed. Veeam support is great.

We weren't able to reproduce this after upgrading hosts in our lab, so I recommend contacting support for closer investigation.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Veeam Logoby Rascii » Fri Mar 21, 2014 7:12 pm

foggy wrote:
Rascii wrote:I upgraded our vCenter server yesterday and ESXi hosts today to 5.5.0 U1 and the Veeam Backups are working (version 7.0.0.839), but when I went to browse the Virtual Machines menu to make a ZIP backup of vCenter none of the VM's show up under either host. I have a third host that was not upgraded and is not managed by vCenter and the VM's do show up there. As long as my backups are working I'm fine waiting for Veeam to test U1 and release a patch if needed. Veeam support is great.

We weren't able to reproduce this after upgrading hosts in our lab, so I recommend contacting support for closer investigation.



I responded to this later that everything showed up and was fine after reboots so I'm good. Thanks.


Rascii wrote:
foggy wrote:Thanks for pointing that out, we will keep an eye on this while updating our labs soon.


HP released a critical update for a NIC driver with ESXi (CUSTOMER ADVISORY ) so I vMotioned each server and applied the updates. After the reboots everything looks fine in Veeam. My HP Insight Management Tab mysteriously showed back up in my vSphere Client. Oddly it never disappeared from the Web Client, but now it's back in the vSphere client again? All is well. The ZIP was successful. Must have been a simple reboot?
Rascii
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 7:22 pm

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Veeam Logoby CaptainFred » Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:34 pm

So is this looking ok so far? Desperate to apply it because of a fix that stops PSOD problem!
CaptainFred
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:05 pm
Full Name: Si

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Veeam Logoby emachabert » Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:05 pm 2 people like this post

we have now multiple clusters running the 5.5U1, no problems so far.
Veeamizing your IT since 2009/ Vanguard 2015,2016,2017
emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 163 times
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:42 am
Location: France
Full Name: Eric Machabert

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Veeam Logoby foggy » Sat Mar 22, 2014 8:38 pm

Rascii wrote:I responded to this later that everything showed up and was fine after reboots so I'm good. Thanks.

Oh, must have missed that fact! Glad you're ok now, thanks for clarifying.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Veeam Logoby CaptainFred » Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:48 am

emachabert wrote:we have now multiple clusters running the 5.5U1, no problems so far.


Are you running backup and replication jobs? What type of storage?

Thanks
CaptainFred
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:05 pm
Full Name: Si

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Veeam Logoby emachabert » Mon Mar 24, 2014 9:23 pm

Backup jobs only.
FC storage arrays , mainly 3Par 7x00 and EMC VNX2.
Veeamizing your IT since 2009/ Vanguard 2015,2016,2017
emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 163 times
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:42 am
Location: France
Full Name: Eric Machabert

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Veeam Logoby CaptainFred » Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:57 pm

emachabert wrote:Backup jobs only.
FC storage arrays , mainly 3Par 7x00 and EMC VNX2.


Ok thanks, anyone running replication to/from vSphere 5.5 U1?
CaptainFred
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:05 pm
Full Name: Si

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Veeam Logoby itfnb » Wed Mar 26, 2014 1:58 pm

Yep. 32 VMs for DR and all is well thus far.
itfnb
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:18 pm

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Veeam Logoby CaptainFred » Wed Mar 26, 2014 2:34 pm

Cool :) Thanks, 5.5 U1 at production and DR?
CaptainFred
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:05 pm
Full Name: Si

[MERGED] : is it safe to upgrade vSphere to 5.5 update 1?

Veeam Logoby tinto1970 » Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:21 pm

Hi, i'm running Veeam 7.0.0.833 and i was thinking about to update my vSphere clusters to the lastest build.

Is it ok with it or it's wise to wait for a new Veeam patch including support/testing with 5.5 update1?

Thanks
Alessandro Tinivelli aka Tinto
@tinto1970
tinto1970
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 69
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 8:40 am
Location: Bologna, Italy
Full Name: Alessandro Tinivelli

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:30 pm

Hi, Alessandro,

Please, see the answers provided above for more information regarding VB&R support of vSphere 5.5 Update 1.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Veeam Logoby CaptainFred » Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:40 pm

I'm confused about this, is Veeam confirming support for vSphere 5.5 Update 1 as it's basically a patch release?
CaptainFred
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:05 pm
Full Name: Si

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Mar 28, 2014 7:43 pm

Correct. In any case, by now we have upgraded our own QC lab to vSphere 5.5 Update 1 and have seen no issues, just like everybody else in this thread. Thanks!
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

PreviousNext

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests