Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
mplep
Service Provider
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 16, 2009 7:50 pm
Contact:

5.5 Update support

Post by mplep » Mar 13, 2014 8:46 am

Hi. We need to roll-out the newly released 5.5 Update 1 ASAP as it contains a critical bugfix we need. I'm firstly checking with vendors whether it's supported or not. We are running Veeam Backup and Replication 7.0.0.771.

Thanks..

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18696
Liked: 1634 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by foggy » Mar 13, 2014 8:57 am

This is a standard question each time some vSphere update is released. Please review similar discussion for previous vSphere version for some considerations regarding vSphere updates support. We are updating our own labs with 5.5 Update 1 next week.

CaptainFred
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 31, 2013 12:05 pm
Full Name: Si
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by CaptainFred » Mar 13, 2014 2:58 pm

I also have the same issue - please can you update this thread once it's supported? Thanks

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25623
Liked: 3910 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by Gostev » Mar 13, 2014 3:57 pm

@CaptainFred as I've already explained in the topic linked by foggy, we do not perform dedicated testing of vSphere update releases, because they are nothing but collection of existing ESXi patches built into the new vSphere build. If some specific patch introduces any issues, we (and VMware) hear about this from customers very quickly right after the patch is released. VMware then rolls all proven patches into the following update, so there is no need from our side to test the update. Thanks!

CaptainFred
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 31, 2013 12:05 pm
Full Name: Si
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by CaptainFred » Mar 13, 2014 4:31 pm

Ok well I can't test this myself (as much as I would like to) on our Production environment so guess I'll have to wait and see if anyone else posts about it.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25623
Liked: 3910 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by Gostev » Mar 13, 2014 9:50 pm

Good idea not to jump the gun with upgrades regardless.

Rascii
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 14, 2014 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by Rascii » Mar 14, 2014 7:36 pm

I upgraded our vCenter server yesterday and ESXi hosts today to 5.5.0 U1 and the Veeam Backups are working (version 7.0.0.839), but when I went to browse the Virtual Machines menu to make a ZIP backup of vCenter none of the VM's show up under either host. I have a third host that was not upgraded and is not managed by vCenter and the VM's do show up there. As long as my backups are working I'm fine waiting for Veeam to test U1 and release a patch if needed. Veeam support is great.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18696
Liked: 1634 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by foggy » Mar 16, 2014 8:41 pm

Thanks for pointing that out, we will keep an eye on this while updating our labs soon.

bearflatfish
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 27, 2013 5:46 am
Full Name: Chia-hung Tseng
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by bearflatfish » Mar 17, 2014 7:23 am

Dear Gostev,

I've found that VMware vCenter server 5.5u1 has supported traditional Chinese.
But the Enterprise manager of Veeam B&R seems unrecognized these changes.
So that enterprise manager shows "No" vCenter server.
I've also check the reporting database, and it shows the version of vCenter as "5.5.0.e vCenter Server 5.5.0 組建版本-1623101".
I thought that might be the root cause for showing no vcenter server.

Regards,
Joe

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23452
Liked: 1670 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 17, 2014 12:00 pm

Hi Joe,

Yes, most likely this is the reason for the issue. BTW, do you have this vCenter Server in the backup console?

Thanks!

athome
Service Provider
Posts: 57
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 16, 2010 9:26 am
Full Name: Anders Thome
Contact:

[MERGED] Support for VSAN

Post by athome » Mar 17, 2014 1:29 pm

Hi!

Does Veeam B&R 7R2 support 5.5 Update1? and is there any considerations regarding backup of VMs on VSAN vs traditional Shared Storage or local-disk in ESXi?


A

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18696
Liked: 1634 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by foggy » Mar 17, 2014 1:34 pm

Anders, please see above for 5.5 Update 1 support.

Regarding VSAN, it is not currently supported, we are planning to release full support for it in approximately 2 months.

athome
Service Provider
Posts: 57
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 16, 2010 9:26 am
Full Name: Anders Thome
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by athome » Mar 17, 2014 7:37 pm

foggy wrote:
Regarding VSAN, it is not currently supported, we are planning to release full support for it in approximately 2 months.
Thank you... looking forward to it :-)

Rascii
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 14, 2014 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by Rascii » Mar 17, 2014 7:58 pm

foggy wrote:Thanks for pointing that out, we will keep an eye on this while updating our labs soon.
HP released a critical update for a NIC driver with ESXi (CUSTOMER ADVISORY ) so I vMotioned each server and applied the updates. After the reboots everything looks fine in Veeam. My HP Insight Management Tab mysteriously showed back up in my vSphere Client. Oddly it never disappeared from the Web Client, but now it's back in the vSphere client again? All is well. The ZIP was successful. Must have been a simple reboot?

bearflatfish
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 27, 2013 5:46 am
Full Name: Chia-hung Tseng
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by bearflatfish » Mar 18, 2014 9:18 am 1 person likes this post

Hi Vitaliy S.,

Yes, backup console shows the vCenter correctly.

Regards,
Joe

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23452
Liked: 1670 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 18, 2014 10:27 am

Ok, you can create a separate thread to discuss it or contact our technical team for further collection session logs review.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18696
Liked: 1634 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by foggy » Mar 20, 2014 12:37 pm

Rascii wrote:I upgraded our vCenter server yesterday and ESXi hosts today to 5.5.0 U1 and the Veeam Backups are working (version 7.0.0.839), but when I went to browse the Virtual Machines menu to make a ZIP backup of vCenter none of the VM's show up under either host. I have a third host that was not upgraded and is not managed by vCenter and the VM's do show up there. As long as my backups are working I'm fine waiting for Veeam to test U1 and release a patch if needed. Veeam support is great.
We weren't able to reproduce this after upgrading hosts in our lab, so I recommend contacting support for closer investigation.

Rascii
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 14, 2014 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by Rascii » Mar 21, 2014 7:12 pm

foggy wrote: We weren't able to reproduce this after upgrading hosts in our lab, so I recommend contacting support for closer investigation.

I responded to this later that everything showed up and was fine after reboots so I'm good. Thanks.

Rascii wrote: HP released a critical update for a NIC driver with ESXi (CUSTOMER ADVISORY ) so I vMotioned each server and applied the updates. After the reboots everything looks fine in Veeam. My HP Insight Management Tab mysteriously showed back up in my vSphere Client. Oddly it never disappeared from the Web Client, but now it's back in the vSphere client again? All is well. The ZIP was successful. Must have been a simple reboot?

CaptainFred
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 31, 2013 12:05 pm
Full Name: Si
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by CaptainFred » Mar 22, 2014 1:34 pm

So is this looking ok so far? Desperate to apply it because of a fix that stops PSOD problem!

emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 373
Liked: 165 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2010 11:42 am
Full Name: Eric Machabert
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by emachabert » Mar 22, 2014 5:05 pm 2 people like this post

we have now multiple clusters running the 5.5U1, no problems so far.
Veeamizing your IT since 2009/ Vanguard 2015,2016,2017,2018,2019

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18696
Liked: 1634 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by foggy » Mar 22, 2014 8:38 pm

Rascii wrote:I responded to this later that everything showed up and was fine after reboots so I'm good. Thanks.
Oh, must have missed that fact! Glad you're ok now, thanks for clarifying.

CaptainFred
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 31, 2013 12:05 pm
Full Name: Si
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by CaptainFred » Mar 24, 2014 11:48 am

emachabert wrote:we have now multiple clusters running the 5.5U1, no problems so far.
Are you running backup and replication jobs? What type of storage?

Thanks

emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 373
Liked: 165 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2010 11:42 am
Full Name: Eric Machabert
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by emachabert » Mar 24, 2014 9:23 pm

Backup jobs only.
FC storage arrays , mainly 3Par 7x00 and EMC VNX2.
Veeamizing your IT since 2009/ Vanguard 2015,2016,2017,2018,2019

CaptainFred
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 31, 2013 12:05 pm
Full Name: Si
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by CaptainFred » Mar 25, 2014 12:57 pm

emachabert wrote:Backup jobs only.
FC storage arrays , mainly 3Par 7x00 and EMC VNX2.
Ok thanks, anyone running replication to/from vSphere 5.5 U1?

itfnb
Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mar 12, 2012 8:18 pm
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by itfnb » Mar 26, 2014 1:58 pm

Yep. 32 VMs for DR and all is well thus far.

CaptainFred
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 31, 2013 12:05 pm
Full Name: Si
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by CaptainFred » Mar 26, 2014 2:34 pm

Cool :) Thanks, 5.5 U1 at production and DR?

tinto1970
Enthusiast
Posts: 81
Liked: 28 times
Joined: Sep 26, 2013 8:40 am
Full Name: Alessandro Tinivelli
Location: Bologna, Italy
Contact:

[MERGED] : is it safe to upgrade vSphere to 5.5 update 1?

Post by tinto1970 » Mar 28, 2014 4:21 pm

Hi, i'm running Veeam 7.0.0.833 and i was thinking about to update my vSphere clusters to the lastest build.

Is it ok with it or it's wise to wait for a new Veeam patch including support/testing with 5.5 update1?

Thanks
Alessandro Tinivelli aka Tinto
@tinto1970

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17288
Liked: 1520 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by veremin » Mar 28, 2014 4:30 pm

Hi, Alessandro,

Please, see the answers provided above for more information regarding VB&R support of vSphere 5.5 Update 1.

Thanks.

CaptainFred
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 31, 2013 12:05 pm
Full Name: Si
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by CaptainFred » Mar 28, 2014 4:40 pm

I'm confused about this, is Veeam confirming support for vSphere 5.5 Update 1 as it's basically a patch release?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18696
Liked: 1634 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: 5.5 Update 1

Post by foggy » Mar 28, 2014 7:43 pm

Correct. In any case, by now we have upgraded our own QC lab to vSphere 5.5 Update 1 and have seen no issues, just like everybody else in this thread. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests