Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
lrosa
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 11, 2012 9:11 pm
Full Name: Luigi Rosa
Location: Italy
Contact:

8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by lrosa » Nov 20, 2014 5:23 am

In Veeam B&R 8.0 I have a backup job with misc linux VMs.

One (and only one) of the VMs is aa firewall appliance and I cannot install VMWare Tools into that VM.

Veeam 8 complains that "Cannot use VMware Tools quiescence because VMware Tools are not found." and the job exits with a warning instead of success.

Is there a way to acknowledge that status once and for all for that job other than create a dedicated job with Tools quiescence disabled?

Thanks in advance.

ciao,
luigi

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16789
Liked: 1410 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by veremin » Nov 20, 2014 10:01 am

VMware Tools Quiescence is specified on job level, rather than on VM one. Thus, I can't think of any way to prevent job from showing warning, apart from creating a dedicated job. Thanks.

captainflannel
Enthusiast
Posts: 31
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 27, 2012 8:53 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] Can I Disable warning messages

Post by captainflannel » Jan 16, 2015 2:20 pm

We have some linux appliances which we cant install VMTools but of course need backed up. Since v8 were getting daily warning emails about this backup job "Cannot use VMware Tools quiescence because VMware Tools are not found."

Is there a way I can disable this warning, but still get emailed if the Job failed or something else were to happen?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by foggy » Jan 16, 2015 2:56 pm

You can place those appliances into a separate job and disable VMware Tools quiescence on it.

GregorS
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 33
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2013 12:11 pm
Full Name: Gregor Smerke
Location: Ljubljana, SI - Slovenija
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by GregorS » Jan 23, 2015 12:31 pm 1 person likes this post

A new backup job means a new full backup + incremental chain, I don't want that. Please change this specific warning (yellow) to informational (green) and bring back v7.0 behaviour. Thanks!

Kind regards
Gregor

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5718
Liked: 1611 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by dellock6 » Jan 23, 2015 12:44 pm 1 person likes this post

That's fun because one of the reason the behaviour was changed is exactly because the other way was considered a problem by many users in v7. I'm pretty sure, if we change it in v8, then people will start complain again and we will never end flipping between the two ways to notify the status.

for many reasons having up-to-date vmware tools or just them installed is recommended for backups since VADP libraries interact with vmware tools a lot, for example in networkless AAIP processing, or the scripting pre and post job, so in my very personal opinion this is correct to be a warning. Maybe we can think about introducing a general setting to offer users to choose if the vmtools status should be a warning or not...
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

GregorS
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 33
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2013 12:11 pm
Full Name: Gregor Smerke
Location: Ljubljana, SI - Slovenija
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by GregorS » Jan 23, 2015 1:33 pm

Thanks Luca, I understand. Maybe I’ve got even a better proposal: similar to having the Applications button at Enable application-aware processing checkbox, where one can set exceptions to the general rule, the Enable VMware Tools quiescence checkbox may also get such a button… ?

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5718
Liked: 1611 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by dellock6 » Jan 23, 2015 1:52 pm

Maybe, but this however would complicate the interface and require users to flag-unflag any VMs, and what about dynamic containers like datastores or resource pools? you will then need to add specific Vms to the exclusion list. We tend to keep the interface as clean as possible, and surface configuration options if they really make sense. Let's see first what other think about "keeping all as is now" vs "general setting" vs "setting per VM".

Thanks for the suggestion nonetheless.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

zuerom
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Feb 28, 2014 11:14 am
Full Name: Roman Zürcher
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by zuerom » Feb 04, 2015 5:33 pm

Hello,
We've got the same problem....
i don't want to create a new Job for this appliances...
Well you can disable this check, if the admin change the Application-Aware Processing Options on this VM in Applications --> Disable application processing!
Because if i disable application processing i don't have to use VMWare Tools!
Right?

Please fix this issue in the upcoming Patch2!?

Thank you very much!
Roman.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16789
Liked: 1410 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by veremin » Feb 05, 2015 9:25 am

Because if i disable application processing i don't have to use VMWare Tools! Right?
No. What you have to disable VMware Tools quiescence (job settings -> Storage -> Advanced -> vSphere). Thanks.

zuerom
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Feb 28, 2014 11:14 am
Full Name: Roman Zürcher
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by zuerom » Feb 06, 2015 7:45 am

v.Eremin wrote:No. What you have to disable VMware Tools quiescence (job settings -> Storage -> Advanced -> vSphere). Thanks.
Yes i know, but there i can only change it for the whole job!
But only to understand, when i Check Disable application processing in one VM VEEM should not use the vmware tools?!
just in my opinion.... DISABLE APPLICATION PROCESSING mean that VMTools quiescence is redundant.
roman

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16789
Liked: 1410 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by veremin » Feb 06, 2015 9:38 am

When i Check Disable application processing in one VM VEEM should not use the vmware tools?!
No, it will mean that Application Aware Image Processing will be disabled for that VM. Instead, VMware Tools Quiescence will be used to freeze this VM.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by foggy » Feb 06, 2015 12:17 pm

zuerom wrote:But only to understand, when i Check Disable application processing in one VM VEEM should not use the vmware tools?!
It's actually, the opposite. If you enable AAIP, it will be used regardless of the VMware Tools quiescence setting.

captainflannel
Enthusiast
Posts: 31
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 27, 2012 8:53 pm
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by captainflannel » Feb 09, 2015 6:36 pm

Would there be some way of adding a registry key or job specific configuration manually? Without having to change the interface, a "for advance user only" type of adjustment for those of us who wish to go back to v7 job warning reporting.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16789
Liked: 1410 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by veremin » Feb 10, 2015 9:17 am

As far as I'm concerned, there is no regkey to revert the behaviour. Thanks.

topgunx11
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 14, 2014 9:38 am
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by topgunx11 » Feb 15, 2015 7:30 pm

Same problem, or better, same warning after upgrade to v8
Any solution for drop this warning (without separate job)
Thanks

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 18, 2015 5:00 pm

Currently this is the only solution for these notifications.

srogala
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 06, 2015 6:32 pm
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by srogala » Mar 06, 2015 6:35 pm

I just wanted to add my opinion that I much preferred the Veeam 7 method of handling this. The warnings are annoying. I have a Linux-based appliance that I need to back up along with my Exchange server, so they need to stay in the same job. I cannot put VMWare tools on this appliance. Getting warnings for my Exchange job is annoying and potentially will cause a real issue to be missed.

stanley.tweedle
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 11, 2015 8:45 am
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by stanley.tweedle » Mar 11, 2015 8:58 am

For us, the new behaviour in v8 is a major drawback. We have a container job configured for each VMWare host with lots of VMs, some of which are third party appliances where VMWare Tools just can't be installed.

Creating jobs for non-quiescing VMs, on the one hand, would double the number of jobs we have to run and, on the other hand, for each VM one of my users creates, I'd have to investigate if it contains VMWare tools or not, and assign it to the respective backup job. Before, it was just automatically backed up.

I'd fancy some kind of setting where you can assign a "log level" to the statusses, defining which event will cause warnings and which not.

Until then, I have to control each job every morning, if there are warnings other than caused by missing VMWare tools. Very annoying.

Best wishes,
Peter

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 11, 2015 10:14 am

I'm not sure it would work for you, but if you could configure your jobs to use Tags, that would partially solve the problem. Please be aware that in Veeam ONE (part of Availability Suite) you can automatically assign vSphere Tags based on the object properties (such Guest OS, location etc.). So given that you configure this rule and assign tags to group all VMs that do not have VMware tools installed, that would help you to re-group your jobs without changing VMs location. Just my 2 cents.

GregorS
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 33
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2013 12:11 pm
Full Name: Gregor Smerke
Location: Ljubljana, SI - Slovenija
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by GregorS » Mar 27, 2015 3:02 pm

VBR 8.0 Update 2 (formerly Patch #2) will be released soon. Can we expect a solution for this issue in it, for instance via registry value?

VMToolsNotFound = "Success" (or "Warning")


Regards
Gregor

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24656
Liked: 3471 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by Gostev » Mar 27, 2015 7:29 pm

Hi, Gregor. I don't believe this generated any significant amount of support cases to be considered for "fixing"... patch contents is determined solely based on support statistics. I will double check on this next week though. Thanks!

mechanised
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 15, 2012 3:13 pm
Full Name: Jools Chesters
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by mechanised » Mar 28, 2015 11:13 pm

I've sort of got round this by not setting the 'notify on warning' option under email settings. Also worth setting jobs to retry a few times and set 'suppress notifications until the last retry' so you'll only get emails if a job has really failed.

It's worse if you're using Red Hat as when kernel updates are pushed out it always breaks the vmware tools so we have to manually fix.

topgunx11
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 14, 2014 9:38 am
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by topgunx11 » May 05, 2015 12:02 pm

Hello,
any news with the new Patch 2?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by foggy » May 05, 2015 12:28 pm

As far as I know, this was not included in Veeam B&R v8 Update 2.

tbtb
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: May 07, 2015 7:56 am
Full Name: Tom Brusselle
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by tbtb » May 07, 2015 8:04 am

Same problem here.
I vote for the solution to be able to exclude certain VM's from vmware tools quiescense the same way you can exclude them from application processing. (you can integrate the choice in the same dialog as where you set the application processing settings for certain VM's or containers. Just give an extra choice "disalbe application processing and VMWare Tools quiescense").

If this is too much of a change for a patch update, a global option to disable warnings on missing vmware tools would be a good first start :)

As it seems choose your improvements by the numer of support cases, i opened a support case to ask for this improvement: #00911844

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by foggy » May 07, 2015 9:36 pm

Thanks, Tom, your voice is heard.

GregorS
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 33
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2013 12:11 pm
Full Name: Gregor Smerke
Location: Ljubljana, SI - Slovenija
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by GregorS » May 08, 2015 10:53 am

Adding count: #00913413. Thanks!

JohnnyW
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 07, 2013 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by JohnnyW » May 13, 2015 10:17 am

And another one: #00916746.

serg38
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 07, 2015 2:58 am
Full Name: Sergey
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by serg38 » Jul 07, 2015 3:02 am

And another #00962352. A new registry setting to suppress the warning could be a quick fix.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests