Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
lrosa
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 11, 2012 9:11 pm
Full Name: Luigi Rosa
Location: Italy
Contact:

8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by lrosa » Nov 20, 2014 5:23 am

In Veeam B&R 8.0 I have a backup job with misc linux VMs.

One (and only one) of the VMs is aa firewall appliance and I cannot install VMWare Tools into that VM.

Veeam 8 complains that "Cannot use VMware Tools quiescence because VMware Tools are not found." and the job exits with a warning instead of success.

Is there a way to acknowledge that status once and for all for that job other than create a dedicated job with Tools quiescence disabled?

Thanks in advance.

ciao,
luigi

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16137
Liked: 1317 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by v.eremin » Nov 20, 2014 10:01 am

VMware Tools Quiescence is specified on job level, rather than on VM one. Thus, I can't think of any way to prevent job from showing warning, apart from creating a dedicated job. Thanks.

captainflannel
Enthusiast
Posts: 31
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 27, 2012 8:53 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] Can I Disable warning messages

Post by captainflannel » Jan 16, 2015 2:20 pm

We have some linux appliances which we cant install VMTools but of course need backed up. Since v8 were getting daily warning emails about this backup job "Cannot use VMware Tools quiescence because VMware Tools are not found."

Is there a way I can disable this warning, but still get emailed if the Job failed or something else were to happen?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by foggy » Jan 16, 2015 2:56 pm

You can place those appliances into a separate job and disable VMware Tools quiescence on it.

GregorS
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 32
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2013 12:11 pm
Full Name: Gregor Smerke
Location: Ljubljana, SI - Slovenija
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by GregorS » Jan 23, 2015 12:31 pm 1 person likes this post

A new backup job means a new full backup + incremental chain, I don't want that. Please change this specific warning (yellow) to informational (green) and bring back v7.0 behaviour. Thanks!

Kind regards
Gregor

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5628
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by dellock6 » Jan 23, 2015 12:44 pm 1 person likes this post

That's fun because one of the reason the behaviour was changed is exactly because the other way was considered a problem by many users in v7. I'm pretty sure, if we change it in v8, then people will start complain again and we will never end flipping between the two ways to notify the status.

for many reasons having up-to-date vmware tools or just them installed is recommended for backups since VADP libraries interact with vmware tools a lot, for example in networkless AAIP processing, or the scripting pre and post job, so in my very personal opinion this is correct to be a warning. Maybe we can think about introducing a general setting to offer users to choose if the vmtools status should be a warning or not...
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

GregorS
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 32
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2013 12:11 pm
Full Name: Gregor Smerke
Location: Ljubljana, SI - Slovenija
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by GregorS » Jan 23, 2015 1:33 pm

Thanks Luca, I understand. Maybe I’ve got even a better proposal: similar to having the Applications button at Enable application-aware processing checkbox, where one can set exceptions to the general rule, the Enable VMware Tools quiescence checkbox may also get such a button… ?

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5628
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by dellock6 » Jan 23, 2015 1:52 pm

Maybe, but this however would complicate the interface and require users to flag-unflag any VMs, and what about dynamic containers like datastores or resource pools? you will then need to add specific Vms to the exclusion list. We tend to keep the interface as clean as possible, and surface configuration options if they really make sense. Let's see first what other think about "keeping all as is now" vs "general setting" vs "setting per VM".

Thanks for the suggestion nonetheless.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

zuerom
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Feb 28, 2014 11:14 am
Full Name: Roman Zürcher
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by zuerom » Feb 04, 2015 5:33 pm

Hello,
We've got the same problem....
i don't want to create a new Job for this appliances...
Well you can disable this check, if the admin change the Application-Aware Processing Options on this VM in Applications --> Disable application processing!
Because if i disable application processing i don't have to use VMWare Tools!
Right?

Please fix this issue in the upcoming Patch2!?

Thank you very much!
Roman.

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16137
Liked: 1317 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by v.eremin » Feb 05, 2015 9:25 am

Because if i disable application processing i don't have to use VMWare Tools! Right?
No. What you have to disable VMware Tools quiescence (job settings -> Storage -> Advanced -> vSphere). Thanks.

zuerom
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Feb 28, 2014 11:14 am
Full Name: Roman Zürcher
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by zuerom » Feb 06, 2015 7:45 am

v.Eremin wrote:No. What you have to disable VMware Tools quiescence (job settings -> Storage -> Advanced -> vSphere). Thanks.
Yes i know, but there i can only change it for the whole job!
But only to understand, when i Check Disable application processing in one VM VEEM should not use the vmware tools?!
just in my opinion.... DISABLE APPLICATION PROCESSING mean that VMTools quiescence is redundant.
roman

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16137
Liked: 1317 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by v.eremin » Feb 06, 2015 9:38 am

When i Check Disable application processing in one VM VEEM should not use the vmware tools?!
No, it will mean that Application Aware Image Processing will be disabled for that VM. Instead, VMware Tools Quiescence will be used to freeze this VM.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by foggy » Feb 06, 2015 12:17 pm

zuerom wrote:But only to understand, when i Check Disable application processing in one VM VEEM should not use the vmware tools?!
It's actually, the opposite. If you enable AAIP, it will be used regardless of the VMware Tools quiescence setting.

captainflannel
Enthusiast
Posts: 31
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 27, 2012 8:53 pm
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by captainflannel » Feb 09, 2015 6:36 pm

Would there be some way of adding a registry key or job specific configuration manually? Without having to change the interface, a "for advance user only" type of adjustment for those of us who wish to go back to v7 job warning reporting.

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16137
Liked: 1317 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: 8.0 - Disable VMware Tools not found warning

Post by v.eremin » Feb 10, 2015 9:17 am

As far as I'm concerned, there is no regkey to revert the behaviour. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 15 guests