Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Asahi
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 03, 2016 5:44 am
Full Name: Iio Asahi
Contact:

About Restoration in a vSphere Horizon View Environment

Post by Asahi » Jul 11, 2019 9:54 am

Hi ,

We use Veeam B & R 9.5 in a customer environment to back up the vSphere Horizon View 7.7 environment.
The backup has been successfully obtained.

This time, the customer performed overwrite Full Restore.
The status of Veeam has been restored successfully.

However, the restored virtual machine is displayed as "Agent Unreachable " on the desktop pool inventory.
And, communication between Horizon Administrator and Horizon Agent was lost.

Does anyone know how to solve it?

Kind Regards,
Asahi,
Climb Inc,

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23073
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: About Restoration in a vSphere Horizon View Environment

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 11, 2019 3:49 pm

Hi,

I guess you need to resolve this as if you've configured the Horizon Agent for the first time, try to reconnect it manually.

Thanks!

Asahi
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 03, 2016 5:44 am
Full Name: Iio Asahi
Contact:

Re: About Restoration in a vSphere Horizon View Environment

Post by Asahi » Jul 12, 2019 1:21 am

Hi Vitaliy,

Thank you for reply.

Thank you for the information that Horizon Agent needs to be reconfigured.
The restored VM is correctly recognized by vCenter.
So I understand that there is nothing wrong with Veeam's restore.

By the way, is there any information on how to reconfigure Horizon Agent?
I have little knowledge of Horizon View, so it would be helpful if you could tell me the page. :D

Kind Regards,
Asahi,
Climb Inc.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23073
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: About Restoration in a vSphere Horizon View Environment

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 12, 2019 10:30 am

I have no idea on how to configure it, but quick google search returned me this: Install Horizon Agent on a Virtual Machine

Asahi
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 03, 2016 5:44 am
Full Name: Iio Asahi
Contact:

Re: About Restoration in a vSphere Horizon View Environment

Post by Asahi » Jul 16, 2019 12:51 am

Hi Vitaliy,

Thank you for reply.
Customer reinstalled Horizon Agent.
However, the error was not resolved.

Kind Regards,
Asahi,
Climb Inc.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17013
Liked: 1456 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: About Restoration in a vSphere Horizon View Environment

Post by veremin » Jul 16, 2019 8:39 am

It might be worth asking these questions on Horizon community, where people are more versed in this area. Thanks!

kerstenc
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 23, 2015 2:24 pm
Full Name: Chris Kersten
Contact:

Re: About Restoration in a vSphere Horizon View Environment

Post by kerstenc » Jul 16, 2019 9:18 pm 1 person likes this post

I'm a Horizon View administrator, when I'm not working on backups.

It would be helpful to know which type of clone (full, linked, instant) that was restored.

It should be as simple as uninstalling and reinstalling the Horizon Agent on the guest VM, if the VDI desktop has normal network connectivity. If that doesn't do it, you'll need to dig into the Horizon Agent logs to see what errors it's coming back with. That will probably need to be followed by a call to VMware support.

As a rule, I would never do a full system restore on a Horizon View desktop. Maybe on a Manual desktop. But if anything in the desktop didn't get restored to the same state as the ADAM database on the Connection Servers, it'll be tricky to get it working again.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests