Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
yitzchok.berger
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 29, 2015 9:43 am
Full Name: Yitzchok Berger
Contact:

Accessing Virtual Lab via SSH

Post by yitzchok.berger » Jun 23, 2016 12:35 pm

Hi All,

I've created a Surebackup job that runs an Oracle Linux VM in a Virtual Lab. The Virtual Lab is configured with a static mapping to allow access from outside the lab into the isolated network. I confirmed this by browsing the the static mapping IP and get the launch page for Apache (also running on the server). When connecting via Putty/SSH to the same IP I get a login prompt, enter the username but am never prompted for a password. Eventually the sessions times out.

Any ideas?

jmmarton
Veeam Software
Posts: 1659
Liked: 224 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Joe Marton
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Accessing Virtual Lab via SSH

Post by jmmarton » Jun 23, 2016 1:27 pm 1 person likes this post

Sounds like some sort of weird timeout with the VM trying to do the reverse DNS check from the Virtual Lab environment when you ssh into it. Try adding UseDNS no to /etc/ssh/sshd_config, restart sshd, and then see if you can ssh into it.

Joe

yitzchok.berger
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 29, 2015 9:43 am
Full Name: Yitzchok Berger
Contact:

Re: Accessing Virtual Lab via SSH

Post by yitzchok.berger » Jun 27, 2016 1:27 pm

Were you referring to the VM that I am running in my vLab or the Proxy Appliance?

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5265
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Accessing Virtual Lab via SSH

Post by P.Tide » Jun 27, 2016 2:05 pm

Hi,

It's the former.

Thanks

yitzchok.berger
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 29, 2015 9:43 am
Full Name: Yitzchok Berger
Contact:

Re: Accessing Virtual Lab via SSH

Post by yitzchok.berger » Jun 27, 2016 6:55 pm

That solved it! Thank you very much!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], IvanK and 29 guests