Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
crp0499
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 06, 2018 1:36 am
Contact:

Add storage to Veeam when it's a VM on a host

Post by crp0499 » May 19, 2019 8:48 pm

So, I need some guidance here. I'm using Veeam BU and Rep for two sites. At site one, the Veeam server is physical and the storage for BU and Replication is attached to this server and it's working great.

At site 2, we have Veeam on a virtual machine and that machine is running on host 1 at that site. Both host 1 and host 2 have lots of storage we need to use for BU and replications.

The only way I have found to add storage to Veeam is to add a virtual HD to Veeam and backup to a network location.

I was hoping Veeam could see the storage on both hosts and mount or add it to Veeam for use as a BU repository.

Am I missing something, or is the only way to add storage the way I'm doing it now?

Thanks

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 4021
Liked: 493 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Add storage to Veeam when it's a VM on a host

Post by HannesK » May 20, 2019 7:00 am

Hello,
Veeam can see any storage, that Windows can see (well, + network shares).

If you have no shared storage between ESX host 1 and ESX host 2, then I see no direct way to add disks from the other server into Windows. Windows cannot access VMFS directly.

You could run a second VM on ESX host 2 and use that as repository. Just add disks to that second VM and add the server as repository in VBR.

Best regards,
Hannes

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Add storage to Veeam when it's a VM on a host

Post by foggy » May 20, 2019 5:51 pm

Just keep in mind that storing backups on VMFS is not generally recommended.

crp0499
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 06, 2018 1:36 am
Contact:

Re: Add storage to Veeam when it's a VM on a host

Post by crp0499 » May 20, 2019 9:09 pm

Thanks to you both. I appreciate the feedback. We DO store backups on VMFS, but we also do a backup copy to ISCSI storage and to tape. I know, I know, I actually typed tape, but we have it so we use it. :)

In this instance, we have decided to get shared storage for that remote site.

vijayG
Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Nov 12, 2018 7:07 pm
Full Name: Vijay Kumar Gouni
Contact:

[MERGED] How to setup a Datastore as Repository

Post by vijayG » Jul 01, 2019 4:26 pm

Here is the another use case.
Our backups(VBR) are sitting on a Free NAS. We are going to setup copy jobs for these servers. We have ESXi host in same network which is having enough storage(Local Storage on Esxi) to maintain copy jobs.
How we can setup a datastore as a Repository??

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 1163
Liked: 117 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: How to setup a Datastore as Repository

Post by wishr » Jul 01, 2019 4:34 pm

Hi Vijay,

You can only use the following repository types. Thus you may spin up a VM and use it as a repository. Generally speaking, we do not recommend doing that.

Thanks

vijayG
Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Nov 12, 2018 7:07 pm
Full Name: Vijay Kumar Gouni
Contact:

Re: Add storage to Veeam when it's a VM on a host

Post by vijayG » Jul 03, 2019 1:46 pm 1 person likes this post

Its work for me.. Thank you all..!!

Deploy a vm and added 6TB drive. added VM as managed server in VBR.
Then i am able to created new repository of 6TB Drive

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot], Mandietha and 10 guests