Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
dmb2002man
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 07, 2015 3:29 pm
Full Name: Josh B
Contact:

adding new servers to current backup

Post by dmb2002man » Dec 07, 2015 3:39 pm

Hello,

I have a current backup running locally and then gets backed up to the cloud. Its an incremental backup with 30 point retention policy. Right now the backup has 6 restore backups on this run. I built a new 2012 server and need to add this into backup. Can I just go and modify the current backup and add this new server in without corrupting it? If not, then what would be my best approach?

thanks,

Josh

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 715 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: adding new servers to current backup

Post by Shestakov » Dec 07, 2015 3:57 pm

Hello Josh and welcome to the forums.
Yes, you can just add the VM to existing job. However, expect the next run be an Active full.
Thanks!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18295
Liked: 1569 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: adding new servers to current backup

Post by foggy » Dec 07, 2015 3:59 pm

Shestakov wrote:However, expect the next run be an Active full.
...for that newly added VMs.

dmb2002man
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 07, 2015 3:29 pm
Full Name: Josh B
Contact:

Re: adding new servers to current backup

Post by dmb2002man » Dec 08, 2015 2:48 pm

ok thanks for the update! Since this is a local backup and offsite backup, then I have to add the vm into each?

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18295
Liked: 1569 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: adding new servers to current backup

Post by foggy » Dec 08, 2015 2:49 pm

Right, you should add it to any job that is supposed to back it up.

dmb2002man
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 07, 2015 3:29 pm
Full Name: Josh B
Contact:

Re: adding new servers to current backup

Post by dmb2002man » Dec 08, 2015 2:54 pm

ok thanks for the update.

dmb2002man
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 07, 2015 3:29 pm
Full Name: Josh B
Contact:

Re: adding new servers to current backup

Post by dmb2002man » Dec 08, 2015 2:57 pm

Also I will recalculate the total size to when adding the vm or will it just auto do that?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18295
Liked: 1569 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: adding new servers to current backup

Post by foggy » Dec 08, 2015 3:00 pm

This calculation is mostly for informational purposes, you can recalculate, if needed.

dmb2002man
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 07, 2015 3:29 pm
Full Name: Josh B
Contact:

Re: adding new servers to current backup

Post by dmb2002man » Dec 08, 2015 3:09 pm

thank you so much!

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 715 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: adding new servers to current backup

Post by Shestakov » Dec 08, 2015 3:25 pm

Just FYI,
There is a Restore point simulator made by one of our system engineers, which can help you to calculate backup files sizes.

dmb2002man
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 07, 2015 3:29 pm
Full Name: Josh B
Contact:

Re: adding new servers to current backup

Post by dmb2002man » Dec 09, 2015 4:14 pm

thanks!

dmb2002man
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 07, 2015 3:29 pm
Full Name: Josh B
Contact:

Re: adding new servers to current backup

Post by dmb2002man » Dec 09, 2015 4:16 pm 1 person likes this post

my 2 servers I added to backup ran last night and was successful this morning!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests