Advice on VEEAM setup

VMware specific discussions

Advice on VEEAM setup

Veeam Logoby tom.starren » Tue Nov 01, 2016 9:54 am

Hello,

My name is Tom and I work for a Professional Services company in the Netherlands. Currently our VEEAM/vShpere environment looks like the following:

  • We've got two sites with each there own vShpere cluster
  • Production VMs run on NetApp storage in a separate 10G LAN
  • VEEAM job manager runs on each cluster in a VM
  • VEEAM Proxy and repositories are located on a physical Windows 2012 R2 server with a DAS connected to it
  • Windows server runs Deduplication feature
  • VMs are being copied to each other each day
  • WAN accelerator is used

With the release of Windows Server 2016 the deplucation feature has got some improvements and I would like to upgrade the current proxy/repository servers to this new OS. I also want to upgrade VEEAM to the new version when it's released. This migration makes it a good time to look at the overall setup of the architecture and this is where I could use some advice from other users and VEEAM experts. I've got the following options in mind:

  • Not changing the VEEAM setup only upgrading the Windows OS on the physical (and maybe virtual) VEEAM servers
  • Use the current physical VEEAM server as hypervisor and run multiple VEEAM proxies/repository servers on it (connected to the same local DAS storage)

Please let me know what you think and would advice. If there is more information you need, please let me know.

Kr,
Tom
tom.starren
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 12:31 pm
Full Name: Tom Starren

Re: Advice on VEEAM setup

Veeam Logoby PTide » Tue Nov 01, 2016 11:32 am

Hi,

If you are talking about OS inline upgrade then please check this thread. Otherwise you should backup your current Veeam configuration first, deploy a new server, and import the configuration from the backup. Check this KB for details.

Use the current physical VEEAM server as hypervisor and run multiple VEEAM proxies/repository servers on it (connected to the same local DAS storage)
Yes, you can do that, however I'm not sure what such splitting will give you aside from ease of management? Why not to use the server as a single powerful proxy+repo?

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3134
Liked: 262 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Advice on VEEAM setup

Veeam Logoby tom.starren » Tue Nov 01, 2016 12:07 pm

PTide wrote:Use the current physical VEEAM server as hypervisor and run multiple VEEAM proxies/repository servers on it (connected to the same local DAS storage). Yes, you can do that, however I'm not sure what such splitting will give you aside from ease of management? Why not to use the server as a single powerful proxy+repo?


This is the current setup and it's working fine, so maybe I need to stick with that.
tom.starren
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 12:31 pm
Full Name: Tom Starren

Re: Advice on VEEAM setup

Veeam Logoby Delo123 » Wed Nov 02, 2016 10:44 am

Hi Tom,

long time no see, what did you end op with on your DAS? Raid,5,6,50 or 10 after all? Using storage spaces?

Guido
Delo123
Expert
 
Posts: 351
Liked: 101 times
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 5:20 pm
Full Name: Guido Meijers

Re: Advice on VEEAM setup

Veeam Logoby tom.starren » Thu Nov 03, 2016 3:17 pm

Hi Guido,

I went with multiple RAID5 groups (4 groups of 6 disks) and add them all together with Storage Spaces. Want to upgrade to Windows 2016 because of the tweaks in the deduplication part.

Tom
tom.starren
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 12:31 pm
Full Name: Tom Starren

Re: Advice on VEEAM setup

Veeam Logoby Delo123 » Thu Nov 03, 2016 3:20 pm

Yup, same here. Howver got some really bis jbos now (60x8TB), will probably go for Raid 10 ;) and switching to 2016 too
Delo123
Expert
 
Posts: 351
Liked: 101 times
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 5:20 pm
Full Name: Guido Meijers

Re: Advice on VEEAM setup

Veeam Logoby tom.starren » Thu Nov 03, 2016 3:56 pm

Can you sent me the specifications of the jbod you currently have via PM? This could be handy for the future.
tom.starren
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 12:31 pm
Full Name: Tom Starren


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 29 guests