Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
Post Reply
vlb
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 05, 2014 2:35 pm
Full Name: Martyn Jeffrey
Contact:

Any Known issues after upgrading from windows Venter to VCSA

Post by vlb »

Hi Guys

we are about to upgrade our 607 windows based vcentre to the VSCA, however during the migration process it will ask us to provide a new name for the VCSA as both servers need to be up at the sametime during themigration.

I wanted to ask if anyone had any issues with the inventory (virtual machines linking to their respective veeam VM's and jobs) after giving the vcenter a new name.

i would expect that after the migration it would just be a case of removing the old vcentre in veeam and adding the new one but i dont want to lose the linking of VM's to their prevous jobs etc

TIA for your help
Regnor
VeeaMVP
Posts: 973
Liked: 303 times
Joined: Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am
Full Name: Max
Contact:

Re: Any Known issues after upgrading from windows Venter to VCSA

Post by Regnor »

During a vCenter migration all MoRef IDs are kept and therefore you shouldn't see any problems with your jobs.
As you say, only the vCenter appliance itself will be seen as a new VM (which it is) and so Veeam will require you to add it to your jobs and do a fullbackup.

If you want to have the same name for new VCSA, just rename your existing vCenter before the migration.
And after the migration you will have to edit the vCenter object in Veeam and accept the new SSL certificate.
vlb
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 05, 2014 2:35 pm
Full Name: Martyn Jeffrey
Contact:

Re: Any Known issues after upgrading from windows Venter to VCSA

Post by vlb »

thank you very much
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 49 guests