[VCSA] Any recommendation for a backup/replica job?

VMware specific discussions

[MERGED] Vcenter virtual applicances backup using veeam 9.0

Veeam Logoby comapny1980 » Tue May 31, 2016 10:11 am

Dear All,

It is possible for me to take backup of vcenter Virtaull applicances using veeam backup, if yes what is the best setting for backup job. Vcenter applicaes is installed as vm on our esxi host.

regards

furqan ahmed
comapny1980
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:19 am
Full Name: Furqan Ahmed

Re: [vcsa 5] Any recommendation for a backup/replica job?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 31, 2016 10:18 am

Yes, it is totally possible. Please review this thread for some recommendations. Basically, you need to enable VMware Tools Quiescence in the job settings.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15272
Liked: 1131 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: [vcsa 5] Any recommendation for a backup/replica job?

Veeam Logoby tntteam » Thu Jun 16, 2016 2:28 pm

foggy wrote:Yes, it is totally possible. Please review this thread for some recommendations. Basically, you need to enable VMware Tools Quiescence in the job settings.

Hi,

Sorry but this thread is all but clear. There are informations for different vcsa and veeam versions and I can't figure out the safest way to do this.

Can you tell me how to backup vcsa 6 completly (including application and database valid states) with VEEAM using a complete sentence describing the complete steps from A to Z so there will be no missunderstanding ? THanks !

-use the vmware script to do manual backup ( https://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/micro ... Id=2091961 ) ?
-use vmware tools quiesce ?
-use some prefreeze script ?

Also I found this website but I did not understand very well what's explained here :
http://emadyounis.com/vcenter/vcenter-s ... 1-rundown/
Support for VCSA backups via VMware vSphere Storage APIs – Data Protection (formley VADP) has been extended. In addition to VCSA with embedded PSC support, now external PSC has been added. This can be done leveraging VMware’s VDP or any third party solution with VMware vSphere Storage APIs – Data Protection, like Veeam. In this example I’m using VDP 6.1 and have taken backups of my external PSC and VCSA.

So we can setup vmware vadp appliance and veeam will integrate with it ?

Thank you
tntteam
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 53
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:40 pm
Full Name: tntteam

[MERGED] Backup/Restore/Replicate vCenter 6.0 Appliance

Veeam Logoby lando_uk » Tue Jun 21, 2016 5:07 pm

At the moment our VCSA 6.0 is backed up as part of a normal job and then copied off site, nothing special has been configured.

Would this restore/replicate to a new location and power on and work straight away, or would it be corrupted because we didn't think about the DB?

Reading articles like this makes me think we shouldn't just rely on Veeam and we may be at risk, potentially needing VMware support to fix the DB upon restore.
http://www.vladan.fr/how-to-backup-and- ... on-vcsa-6/

Or am I worrying about nothing and the vcenter restore would work fine because Veeam is great :P ?

Cheers
lando_uk
Expert
 
Posts: 247
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 10:02 am
Location: UK
Full Name: Mark

Re: Backup/Restore/Replicate vCenter 6.0 Appliance

Veeam Logoby jmmarton » Tue Jun 21, 2016 8:32 pm

jmmarton
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 937
Liked: 100 times
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Full Name: Joe Marton

Re: [vcsa 5] Any recommendation for a backup/replica job?

Veeam Logoby lando_uk » Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:44 pm

Can you tell me how to backup vcsa 6 completly (including application and database valid states) with VEEAM using a complete sentence describing the complete steps from A to Z so there will be no missunderstanding ? THanks !


I'd also like to know.
lando_uk
Expert
 
Posts: 247
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 10:02 am
Location: UK
Full Name: Mark

Re: [vcsa 5] Any recommendation for a backup/replica job?

Veeam Logoby mdornfeld » Thu Jul 07, 2016 9:42 pm

lando_uk wrote:Can you tell me how to backup vcsa 6 completly (including application and database valid states) with VEEAM using a complete sentence describing the complete steps from A to Z so there will be no missunderstanding ? THanks!

I'd also like to know.


Agreed. The above has just become a jumbled mess of versions and conflicting recommendations. I'd also like to know A-Z steps of the Veeam recommended way to back up the vCSA 6.x appliance. Thank you!
mdornfeld
Expert
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 4:44 pm
Full Name: Matt

Re: [vcsa 5] Any recommendation for a backup/replica job?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jul 08, 2016 4:23 pm

Hi Matt, not sure why it is conflicting, but basically you need to enable VMware Tools quiescence and use pre-freeze/post-thaw scripts for application consistency, adding this VM via direct ESXi host connection should not be required.

Let me know if you face any issues with this approach.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19942
Liked: 1144 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: [vcsa 5] Any recommendation for a backup/replica job?

Veeam Logoby mdornfeld » Fri Jul 08, 2016 4:29 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:use pre-freeze/post-thaw scripts for application consistency


Thank you Vitaliy. Just to be perfectly clear on the pre-freeze/post-thaw scripts, which specific scripts are you referring to?

Matt
mdornfeld
Expert
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 4:44 pm
Full Name: Matt

Re: [vcsa 5] Any recommendation for a backup/replica job?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jul 08, 2016 4:43 pm

I'm referring to some generic pre-freeze/post-thaw scripts that should be used to prepare vPostgres database in VCSA for backups. If there are no scripts to use and vCenter Server database can sustain creating snapshots without preparing its database, then quicence on the file system level (VMware Tools Quiescence) should be enough to make a VM-level backup of the VCSA.

BTW, VMware has a KB article on how to back it up, but this is a manual procedure > Back up and restore vCenter Server Appliance/vCenter Server 6.0 vPostgres database
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19942
Liked: 1144 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: [vcsa 5] Any recommendation for a backup/replica job?

Veeam Logoby mdornfeld » Fri Jul 08, 2016 4:53 pm

Thank you for the input. It strikes me as very odd that given the general direction of VMware towards the vCSA, and my guess that at least half of Veeam's user base uses VMware, that you don't just have a perfectly tuned built-in job for Veeam users to invoke for this very specific purpose. It's like that moment a few revs back when Veeam realized it should introduce a specialized backup job to backup Veeam itself. My suggestion is that the vCSA is now mature enough that this should be a given as well. Thank you for your time and assistance!
mdornfeld
Expert
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 4:44 pm
Full Name: Matt

Re: [vcsa 5] Any recommendation for a backup/replica job?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jul 08, 2016 5:01 pm

Thanks for the feedback! I will double-check it with our QC team, but I haven't heard that vCSA needs any special treatment during backup (assuming VMware Tools Quiescence is enabled).
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19942
Liked: 1144 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: [vcsa 5] Any recommendation for a backup/replica job?

Veeam Logoby mdornfeld » Fri Jul 08, 2016 5:07 pm

Hi Vitaliy.

Really appreciate you checking with QC. I am probably misunderstanding, but it seems like I just go two separate set of instructions in the last couple of posts.

Vitaliy S. wrote:... you need to enable VMware Tools quiescence and use pre-freeze/post-thaw scripts for application consistency.


Vitaliy S. wrote:... I haven't heard that vCSA needs any special treatment during backup (assuming VMware Tools Quiescence is enabled).


Would really appreciate that if after you check with QC, you can post the go-forward recommendation from Veeam for backing up the vCSA 6.x appliance.

Thank you very much for you persistence! Matt
mdornfeld
Expert
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 4:44 pm
Full Name: Matt

Re: [vcsa 5] Any recommendation for a backup/replica job?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jul 08, 2016 5:11 pm

Ok! The confusion is probably coming from that for any application running on Linux usually some native pre-freeze/post-thaw scripts are required. If application vendor does not provide it, then it should be safe to use just VMware Tools Quiescence option.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19942
Liked: 1144 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: [vcsa 5] Any recommendation for a backup/replica job?

Veeam Logoby tntteam » Thu Sep 22, 2016 7:52 am

Hey there,

Since the topic is still not clear, I did setup the vmware backup db script on cron.daily and dump db into /storage/autodeploy/ as I do not use this feature, this volume has free space.

I tested this volume is inside the vcsa veeam backup, so if needed I can just use the vmware import script.

And now I can say my DB is backed up and not "should be" ;) ;)

Vmware backup script : https://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/micro ... Id=2091961
tntteam
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 53
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:40 pm
Full Name: tntteam

PreviousNext

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests