Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
champ_
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 18, 2014 9:20 am
Full Name: Roger
Contact:

Application-aware replication

Post by champ_ » Jun 23, 2015 7:55 pm

Hello,

Is it necassery to choose application-aware (SQL) when doing replication?
The customer is using local sql dumps instead of using Veeam handling this (believe I have tried to convince them....), so they have deselected application-aware (SQL) on the Veeam backup job.

They customer also has a large replica metadata folder after changing Vcenter server. Is the easiest/simpliest way just to delete all the data inside the folder and make the replication job recreate the metadata?

Regards

Roger

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16897
Liked: 1438 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Application-aware replication

Post by veremin » Jun 24, 2015 9:06 am 1 person likes this post

Is it necassery to choose application-aware (SQL) when doing replication?
Without it VM will be in crash-consistent state, as if power outage happened. However, SQL handles such situations pretty well, and since you're also taking dumps of it I don't think yo have to worry.
Is the easiest/simpliest way just to delete all the data inside the folder and make the replication job recreate the metadata?
Right. You can delete it, it should be recreated during next replica cycle.

Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22993
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Application-aware replication

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 24, 2015 10:40 am 1 person likes this post

My 2 cents - replication jobs by default do not touch transaction logs at all, so given that you're doing logs backup via 3rd party tool, you should be fine.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], oleg.feoktistov, syscons and 25 guests