Application-aware replication

VMware specific discussions

Application-aware replication

Veeam Logoby champ_ » Tue Jun 23, 2015 7:55 pm

Hello,

Is it necassery to choose application-aware (SQL) when doing replication?
The customer is using local sql dumps instead of using Veeam handling this (believe I have tried to convince them....), so they have deselected application-aware (SQL) on the Veeam backup job.

They customer also has a large replica metadata folder after changing Vcenter server. Is the easiest/simpliest way just to delete all the data inside the folder and make the replication job recreate the metadata?

Regards

Roger
champ_
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 9:20 am
Full Name: Roger

Re: Application-aware replication

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Jun 24, 2015 9:06 am 1 person likes this post

Is it necassery to choose application-aware (SQL) when doing replication?

Without it VM will be in crash-consistent state, as if power outage happened. However, SQL handles such situations pretty well, and since you're also taking dumps of it I don't think yo have to worry.

Is the easiest/simpliest way just to delete all the data inside the folder and make the replication job recreate the metadata?

Right. You can delete it, it should be recreated during next replica cycle.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Application-aware replication

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Jun 24, 2015 10:40 am 1 person likes this post

My 2 cents - replication jobs by default do not touch transaction logs at all, so given that you're doing logs backup via 3rd party tool, you should be fine.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests