Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Backerupper
Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Dec 28, 2012 2:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Backing up Sharepoint 2010 in Veeam v7

Post by Backerupper » Aug 28, 2013 11:31 am 1 person likes this post

Sysadmin role is not going to work for us either...I hope they come up with a better 'fix'.

I've got the OCD as well...I hate glazing over every warning message to see if in fact it is important..

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backing up Sharepoint 2010 in Veeam v7

Post by foggy » Aug 28, 2013 11:43 am

Yes, this is already on the list of fixes.

Just wanted to stress this once more: getting this warning does not affect backup procedure in any way, however you will need to manually mount SharePoint database on restore, instead of it automatically being imported in Veeam Explorer for SharePoint.

ejleipold
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Oct 19, 2011 6:14 am
Full Name: Evan Leipold
Contact:

Re: Backing up Sharepoint 2010 in Veeam v7

Post by ejleipold » Aug 29, 2013 12:43 pm 1 person likes this post

Haha yeah but we're IT people, we all have a certain degree of OCD when it comes to warnings ;)

itfnb
Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mar 12, 2012 8:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Backing up Sharepoint 2010 in Veeam v7

Post by itfnb » Aug 29, 2013 8:46 pm

foggy wrote:Yes, this is already on the list of fixes.

Just wanted to stress this once more: getting this warning does not affect backup procedure in any way, however you will need to manually mount SharePoint database on restore, instead of it automatically being imported in Veeam Explorer for SharePoint.
Good deal. We went through all the pains of establishing our SharePoint 2013 infrastructure on least privileges and we can wait…like others, we're not interested in tacking on a sysadmin account either. :wink: Though my OCD may just whoop me! :D

mdiver
Service Provider
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Nov 04, 2009 2:08 pm
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Backing up Sharepoint 2010 in Veeam v7

Post by mdiver » Sep 04, 2013 11:54 am 1 person likes this post

Same here. Perfectly solved by Veeam support by guiding me to this the thread (Case # 00434935).
Adding the sysadmin role to the VSS user specified in B&R and all green again... :D

josthimerMD
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 09, 2013 6:27 pm
Full Name: Jeff Osthimer
Contact:

Re: Backing up Sharepoint 2010 in Veeam v7

Post by josthimerMD » Sep 19, 2013 6:28 pm 2 people like this post

As for model of least privilege:

I've found that I can give the Veeam Service Account "public" server level access and "public" and "WSS_Content_Application Pools" for the Database Roles of the SharePoint configuration database and can run a successful backup.

nitsuj
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 18, 2013 11:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Backing up Sharepoint 2010 in Veeam v7

Post by nitsuj » Sep 19, 2013 11:04 pm

I have the same problem. I'm very new to veeam and sharepoint. Can anyone give me some more detailed information on how to fix this?

Thanks

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16789
Liked: 1410 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backing up Sharepoint 2010 in Veeam v7

Post by veremin » Sep 20, 2013 8:06 am

As mentioned, the warning you got doesn’t have any impact on backup/replication performance, apart from requirement to manually mount SharePoint database on restore. In order to solve the issue if you grant the user that is specified for VSS sysadmin role of the sharepoint SQL server.

If you’re after specifying the least possible privileges, kindly, use the model determined empirically by Jeff Osthimer.

Thanks.

edtayl
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Nov 07, 2013 9:26 am
Full Name: Edward Taylor
Contact:

Re: Backing up Sharepoint 2010 in Veeam v7

Post by edtayl » Nov 07, 2013 3:50 pm 2 people like this post

I can confirm this fix from Jeff Osthimer works in our Sharepoint 2013 environment too. To clarify, you need to give Veeam account the Public access on all db's and also tick the "WSS_Content_Application Pools" role on all the db's where it appears as an available role. I now get the green tick on the job.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests