Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17433
Liked: 1447 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by foggy » Oct 01, 2015 2:47 pm

btmaus wrote:Which section do I need to look at?
VM Guest OS Connections section.

Jack1874
Enthusiast
Posts: 95
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Oct 17, 2015 3:32 pm
Full Name: Stuart Little
Location: Canada
Contact:

[MERGED] Guest Processing - through a firewall

Post by Jack1874 » Jan 26, 2016 7:48 pm

Guys, our environment has some domain controllers in the DMZ.

We want to enable Guest Processing to back them up using a Service Account in the DMZ.

Currently it fails as there is no authentication through the firewall to allow the service account to reach the DMZ from the backup server.

Is anyone doing this successfully? What ports did you need to open on the firewall.

Thoughts??

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17433
Liked: 1447 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by foggy » Jan 26, 2016 8:59 pm

What message do you see on the job failure? Actually, direct network connection is not required for guest processing, see details above.

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Jan 26, 2016 11:04 pm

@Jack1874 ... I use the VIX method now for the VMs in my DMZ, as suggested earlier in this thread.

@foggy ... One DMZ VM in particular keeps on producing this warning (with VIX enabled):

Code: Select all

Failed to prepare guest for hot backup. Details: Failed to connect to guest agent. Errors:
'Cannot connect to the host's administrative share. Host:  [xyz.xyz.xyz.xyz]. Account: [Administrator].
Win32 error:The trust relationship between this workstation and the primary domain failed.
 Code: 1789
Idea's?
'

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17433
Liked: 1447 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by foggy » Jan 27, 2016 9:47 am

Glenn, check whether UAC is disabled on the VM and whether you're using Domain Administrator account, since one of those is required to perform application-aware image processing work over VIX.

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15807
Liked: 1252 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by v.Eremin » Jan 27, 2016 12:03 pm

Also, you can choose a VM sitting in DMZ as guest interaction proxy and let it push run-time process to the required VMs there. Thanks.

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Jan 28, 2016 3:25 am

@foggy ... it's using the Local Administrator account to backup the VM.

So if I place a Guest Interaction Proxy in the DMZ, then I can backup all my DMZ VMs using application-aware processing (which I can't at the moment)?

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 4814
Liked: 401 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by PTide » Jan 28, 2016 8:08 am

foggy ... it's using the Local Administrator account to backup the VM
Please make sure that you can connect to the admin share (for example, \\Server Name\admin$) with the same credentials as provided to Veeam Backup & Replication for guest processing.
So if I place a Guest Interaction Proxy in the DMZ, then I can backup all my DMZ VMs using application-aware processing (which I can't at the moment)?
Yes, but you'll have to provide a two-way communication between guest proxy and VBR.

Thank you.

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15807
Liked: 1252 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by v.Eremin » Jan 28, 2016 12:50 pm

btmaus wrote:So if I place a Guest Interaction Proxy in the DMZ, then I can backup all my DMZ VMs using application-aware processing (which I can't at the moment)?
Correct, but be aware to open TCP 6190 between backup server and guest interaction proxy.Thanks.

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Jan 28, 2016 8:50 pm

PTide wrote:Please make sure that you can connect to the admin share (for example, \\Server Name\admin$) with the same credentials as provided to Veeam Backup & Replication for guest processing.
It can't, as it's in the DMZ and doesn't have all those ports open. I have the options ticked to use both application-aware and vSphere quiesce, from reading the documentation I thought it should failover to using vSphere (no need for connection to admin share)? Or am I wrong?
Yes, but you'll have to provide a two-way communication between guest proxy and VBR.
Thanks, might have to look into this.Would the Guest Interaction proxy still need a connection back to the vCentre though? Not sure I want to open all those ports from my DMZ.

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 4814
Liked: 401 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by PTide » Jan 29, 2016 9:40 am

it should failover to using vSphere (no need for connection to admin share)? Or am I wrong?
You're absolutely right, it slipped out from my mind that your VM is in DMZ. I recommend contacting support. Normally the job should attempt using VIX after being unable to connect via network.
Would the Guest Interaction proxy still need a connection back to the vCentre though
It must have a LAN or VIX connection to the VM that will be backed up or replicated.

Thank you.

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15807
Liked: 1252 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by v.Eremin » Jan 29, 2016 11:03 am

Would the Guest Interaction proxy still need a connection back to the vCentre though?
Nope, it wouldn't. All required ports are mentioned in the referenced section of our User Guide. Thanks.

Psycorp
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 05, 2016 7:31 am
Full Name: Kris Woodward
Contact:

[MERGED] Backup Workgroup DMZ Servers

Post by Psycorp » Apr 25, 2016 11:32 am

Hi All

We'd like to backup certain servers within our DMZ which are in a workgroup. Possibly silly question but is it possible to do this without using Administrator credentials for the guest OS but while also leaving remote UAC enabled?

Cheers

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17433
Liked: 1447 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by foggy » Apr 25, 2016 12:08 pm

Kris, either Domain Administrator account or disabled UAC is required, please see the thread above.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests