Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Sep 27, 2015 11:56 pm

I have my Veeam B&R Sever and Veeam Proxy servers in my Production VLAN, where vCenter is also located.

I have a couple of virtual machines in different DMZ networks that are behing firewalls. What options do I have to backup these virtual machines if I want to enable Application-aware processing? Do I need to open firewall ports?

Thanks

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24813
Liked: 3573 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by Gostev » Sep 28, 2015 12:59 am

Direct network connection to the guest is not a requirement with Veeam, as backup server can talk to it via ESXi host as well. Thanks!

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Sep 28, 2015 1:43 am

Ok but I notice if I enable Application-aware processing for the virtual machines in the DMZ network, then I get an error about VIX

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16908
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by veremin » Sep 28, 2015 11:25 am

What specific issue you got? What kind of account is specified for application processing of this VM?

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5734
Liked: 1626 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by dellock6 » Sep 28, 2015 3:38 pm

be careful on VIX you either have to disable UAC or use the native administrator account, otherwise indeed you are going to face errors.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Sep 30, 2015 12:25 am

If I add a VM to my backup job, that has application-aware processing enabled, and I click on test credentials, it says:

Connecting to guest OS via RPC, user Administrator - (this is the correct credentials btw, I have double checked)
Cannot connect to the host's administrative share

So do I need to open firewall ports?

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5734
Liked: 1626 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by dellock6 » Sep 30, 2015 8:18 am 1 person likes this post

Only if you want to use network as a connection, but as said before you can leverage VIX processing that uses the ESXi libraries to access the vm over the hypervisor stack, so you can keep your DMZ closed as before.
The test should actually test both type of connections, haven't you seen the result also of the VIX test?
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Sep 30, 2015 10:55 am

dellock6 wrote:Only if you want to use network as a connection, but as said before you can leverage VIX processing that uses the ESXi libraries to access the vm over the hypervisor stack, so you can keep your DMZ closed as before.
The test should actually test both type of connections, haven't you seen the result also of the VIX test?
The Transport Mode is set to Automatic, with the failver to network option selected. So is it just doing a network test by default and then stopping? I don't see other tests after that. I have application-aware processing checked along with vSphere Guest quiescence.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18291
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by foggy » Sep 30, 2015 11:09 am

There should be a record for the VIX test, right after the RPC lines (or before them, if the registry setting for protocol order inversion is specified). If you do not see them, please contact technical support.

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Sep 30, 2015 10:54 pm

I created a new job, with application-aware processing checked along with vSphere Guest quiescence:

Connection to guest OS via RPC failed
Cannot connect to host's Administrative share
Then I get a pass for VIX tests.

So what does this mean, it will use VMware's own vSphere Guest quiescence to take the backup?

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5265
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by P.Tide » Oct 01, 2015 9:32 am

So what does this mean, it will use VMware's own vSphere Guest quiescence to take the backup?
You can still use AAIP without having direct network connection to the backed up VMs. Just make sure you have VMware Tools up and running in these VMs. Please refer to this thread for requirements.

Thank you.

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Oct 01, 2015 12:47 pm

Ok, thanks for the info.

If I decide to open the ports, which ports do I need to open specifically? I've had a look here but it's very confusing: http://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/80/v ... ports.html

Which section do I need to look at?

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5265
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by P.Tide » Oct 01, 2015 12:56 pm

If I decide to open the ports, which ports do I need to open specifically?
If you mean Guest OS ports then please refer to "VM Guest OS Connections" section of that guide.

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Oct 01, 2015 1:26 pm

OK thank you, that's alot of ports!

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5265
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by P.Tide » Oct 01, 2015 1:56 pm

That's alot of ports!
That's why in case of DMZ it's better to stick with VIX. There is an article from our Evangelist, please take a look as it might be helpful.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18291
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by foggy » Oct 01, 2015 2:47 pm

btmaus wrote:Which section do I need to look at?
VM Guest OS Connections section.

Jack1874
Enthusiast
Posts: 95
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Oct 17, 2015 3:32 pm
Full Name: Stuart Little
Location: Canada
Contact:

[MERGED] Guest Processing - through a firewall

Post by Jack1874 » Jan 26, 2016 7:48 pm

Guys, our environment has some domain controllers in the DMZ.

We want to enable Guest Processing to back them up using a Service Account in the DMZ.

Currently it fails as there is no authentication through the firewall to allow the service account to reach the DMZ from the backup server.

Is anyone doing this successfully? What ports did you need to open on the firewall.

Thoughts??

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18291
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by foggy » Jan 26, 2016 8:59 pm

What message do you see on the job failure? Actually, direct network connection is not required for guest processing, see details above.

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Jan 26, 2016 11:04 pm

@Jack1874 ... I use the VIX method now for the VMs in my DMZ, as suggested earlier in this thread.

@foggy ... One DMZ VM in particular keeps on producing this warning (with VIX enabled):

Code: Select all

Failed to prepare guest for hot backup. Details: Failed to connect to guest agent. Errors:
'Cannot connect to the host's administrative share. Host:  [xyz.xyz.xyz.xyz]. Account: [Administrator].
Win32 error:The trust relationship between this workstation and the primary domain failed.
 Code: 1789
Idea's?
'

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18291
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by foggy » Jan 27, 2016 9:47 am

Glenn, check whether UAC is disabled on the VM and whether you're using Domain Administrator account, since one of those is required to perform application-aware image processing work over VIX.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16908
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by veremin » Jan 27, 2016 12:03 pm

Also, you can choose a VM sitting in DMZ as guest interaction proxy and let it push run-time process to the required VMs there. Thanks.

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Jan 28, 2016 3:25 am

@foggy ... it's using the Local Administrator account to backup the VM.

So if I place a Guest Interaction Proxy in the DMZ, then I can backup all my DMZ VMs using application-aware processing (which I can't at the moment)?

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5265
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by P.Tide » Jan 28, 2016 8:08 am

foggy ... it's using the Local Administrator account to backup the VM
Please make sure that you can connect to the admin share (for example, \\Server Name\admin$) with the same credentials as provided to Veeam Backup & Replication for guest processing.
So if I place a Guest Interaction Proxy in the DMZ, then I can backup all my DMZ VMs using application-aware processing (which I can't at the moment)?
Yes, but you'll have to provide a two-way communication between guest proxy and VBR.

Thank you.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16908
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by veremin » Jan 28, 2016 12:50 pm

btmaus wrote:So if I place a Guest Interaction Proxy in the DMZ, then I can backup all my DMZ VMs using application-aware processing (which I can't at the moment)?
Correct, but be aware to open TCP 6190 between backup server and guest interaction proxy.Thanks.

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Jan 28, 2016 8:50 pm

PTide wrote:Please make sure that you can connect to the admin share (for example, \\Server Name\admin$) with the same credentials as provided to Veeam Backup & Replication for guest processing.
It can't, as it's in the DMZ and doesn't have all those ports open. I have the options ticked to use both application-aware and vSphere quiesce, from reading the documentation I thought it should failover to using vSphere (no need for connection to admin share)? Or am I wrong?
Yes, but you'll have to provide a two-way communication between guest proxy and VBR.
Thanks, might have to look into this.Would the Guest Interaction proxy still need a connection back to the vCentre though? Not sure I want to open all those ports from my DMZ.

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5265
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by P.Tide » Jan 29, 2016 9:40 am

it should failover to using vSphere (no need for connection to admin share)? Or am I wrong?
You're absolutely right, it slipped out from my mind that your VM is in DMZ. I recommend contacting support. Normally the job should attempt using VIX after being unable to connect via network.
Would the Guest Interaction proxy still need a connection back to the vCentre though
It must have a LAN or VIX connection to the VM that will be backed up or replicated.

Thank you.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16908
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by veremin » Jan 29, 2016 11:03 am

Would the Guest Interaction proxy still need a connection back to the vCentre though?
Nope, it wouldn't. All required ports are mentioned in the referenced section of our User Guide. Thanks.

Psycorp
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 05, 2016 7:31 am
Full Name: Kris Woodward
Contact:

[MERGED] Backup Workgroup DMZ Servers

Post by Psycorp » Apr 25, 2016 11:32 am

Hi All

We'd like to backup certain servers within our DMZ which are in a workgroup. Possibly silly question but is it possible to do this without using Administrator credentials for the guest OS but while also leaving remote UAC enabled?

Cheers

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18291
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by foggy » Apr 25, 2016 12:08 pm

Kris, either Domain Administrator account or disabled UAC is required, please see the thread above.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests