Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Sep 27, 2015 11:56 pm

I have my Veeam B&R Sever and Veeam Proxy servers in my Production VLAN, where vCenter is also located.

I have a couple of virtual machines in different DMZ networks that are behing firewalls. What options do I have to backup these virtual machines if I want to enable Application-aware processing? Do I need to open firewall ports?

Thanks

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24020
Liked: 3255 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by Gostev » Sep 28, 2015 12:59 am

Direct network connection to the guest is not a requirement with Veeam, as backup server can talk to it via ESXi host as well. Thanks!

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Sep 28, 2015 1:43 am

Ok but I notice if I enable Application-aware processing for the virtual machines in the DMZ network, then I get an error about VIX

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16154
Liked: 1319 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by v.eremin » Sep 28, 2015 11:25 am

What specific issue you got? What kind of account is specified for application processing of this VM?

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5628
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by dellock6 » Sep 28, 2015 3:38 pm

be careful on VIX you either have to disable UAC or use the native administrator account, otherwise indeed you are going to face errors.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Sep 30, 2015 12:25 am

If I add a VM to my backup job, that has application-aware processing enabled, and I click on test credentials, it says:

Connecting to guest OS via RPC, user Administrator - (this is the correct credentials btw, I have double checked)
Cannot connect to the host's administrative share

So do I need to open firewall ports?

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5628
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by dellock6 » Sep 30, 2015 8:18 am 1 person likes this post

Only if you want to use network as a connection, but as said before you can leverage VIX processing that uses the ESXi libraries to access the vm over the hypervisor stack, so you can keep your DMZ closed as before.
The test should actually test both type of connections, haven't you seen the result also of the VIX test?
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Sep 30, 2015 10:55 am

dellock6 wrote:Only if you want to use network as a connection, but as said before you can leverage VIX processing that uses the ESXi libraries to access the vm over the hypervisor stack, so you can keep your DMZ closed as before.
The test should actually test both type of connections, haven't you seen the result also of the VIX test?
The Transport Mode is set to Automatic, with the failver to network option selected. So is it just doing a network test by default and then stopping? I don't see other tests after that. I have application-aware processing checked along with vSphere Guest quiescence.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17717
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by foggy » Sep 30, 2015 11:09 am

There should be a record for the VIX test, right after the RPC lines (or before them, if the registry setting for protocol order inversion is specified). If you do not see them, please contact technical support.

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Sep 30, 2015 10:54 pm

I created a new job, with application-aware processing checked along with vSphere Guest quiescence:

Connection to guest OS via RPC failed
Cannot connect to host's Administrative share
Then I get a pass for VIX tests.

So what does this mean, it will use VMware's own vSphere Guest quiescence to take the backup?

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 4952
Liked: 418 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by P.Tide » Oct 01, 2015 9:32 am

So what does this mean, it will use VMware's own vSphere Guest quiescence to take the backup?
You can still use AAIP without having direct network connection to the backed up VMs. Just make sure you have VMware Tools up and running in these VMs. Please refer to this thread for requirements.

Thank you.

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Oct 01, 2015 12:47 pm

Ok, thanks for the info.

If I decide to open the ports, which ports do I need to open specifically? I've had a look here but it's very confusing: http://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/80/v ... ports.html

Which section do I need to look at?

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 4952
Liked: 418 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by P.Tide » Oct 01, 2015 12:56 pm

If I decide to open the ports, which ports do I need to open specifically?
If you mean Guest OS ports then please refer to "VM Guest OS Connections" section of that guide.

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by btmaus » Oct 01, 2015 1:26 pm

OK thank you, that's alot of ports!

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 4952
Liked: 418 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backing up virtual machines in DMZ

Post by P.Tide » Oct 01, 2015 1:56 pm

That's alot of ports!
That's why in case of DMZ it's better to stick with VIX. There is an article from our Evangelist, please take a look as it might be helpful.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests