Backup Copy Job is not working...i am new...

VMware specific discussions

Backup Copy Job is not working...i am new...

Veeam Logoby Darkyputz » Tue Feb 16, 2016 7:59 pm

Hello!

We are using VBR 9 and i was able to get the wan accelerators of two locations see each other, have a working backup and wanted to start with getting this stuff copied over from location one to location two...
So i set up the backup copy job in that way, that it starts after the original backup job.
But when i try that, the backup runs great, and the backup copy seems to start until this message:
Restore point is located in Backup Copy target repository and cannot be used as a source

And i have NO clue why or what i can do about it...

Any ideas out there??

Thx alot in advance

Both machines on each location VBR 9, backup encrypted/password protected, file only 57 gig in size
Darkyputz
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 7:51 pm
Full Name: Jan Meinecke

Re: Backup Copy Job is not working...i am new...

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Feb 17, 2016 11:01 am

Jan, you seem to use the same repository both as source and target for the backup copy job, which is not possible. Please create a separate repository and point your backup copy job to it.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14734
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup Copy Job is not working...i am new...

Veeam Logoby Darkyputz » Wed Feb 17, 2016 6:39 pm

Hello...

I am not sure if i understand...
I am backing up to a NAS...which has a share that is setup as backup repository
Now i created the backup copy job and pointed to that job/backup repo...
Where is your second repo coming into place?

When i create a repo that points to the destination machine, than i get a job error:
Move all backup files to the new backup repository first...

So i am kind of lost right now...

Thx so far
Darkyputz
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 7:51 pm
Full Name: Jan Meinecke

Re: Backup Copy Job is not working...i am new...

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Feb 17, 2016 8:41 pm

Just create a new backup copy job, select your regular job as a source and new repository on the destination machine as a target.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14734
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup Copy Job is not working...i am new...

Veeam Logoby Darkyputz » Wed Feb 17, 2016 9:21 pm

Doing right now...lets see
Darkyputz
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 7:51 pm
Full Name: Jan Meinecke

Re: Backup Copy Job is not working...i am new...

Veeam Logoby Darkyputz » Wed Feb 17, 2016 9:22 pm

Wow...something really does something...
What could be the problem with my first try?
Just because wrong order?!
Darkyputz
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 7:51 pm
Full Name: Jan Meinecke

Re: Backup Copy Job is not working...i am new...

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Feb 18, 2016 1:55 pm

No, since you've already tried to run the backup copy job, Veeam B&R assumed the target repository already had some backup files that should be moved to the newly created one. That's a know issue.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14734
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup Copy Job is not working...i am new...

Veeam Logoby Darkyputz » Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:08 pm

Thank you so much...
It copied the stuff over...
Even that the file sizes are odd, VMware loads them and VM's are ok
Will see how it will work out over time...

Saved me lots of sweat...thx
Darkyputz
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 7:51 pm
Full Name: Jan Meinecke


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], calamarz, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot] and 29 guests