Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Backup copy job

Post by ashman70 » Feb 19, 2015 3:17 pm

I am using Veeam Backup standard at one particular client who is using a physical server as the repository, the server has an internal LTO drive and the contents of the repository are backed up on to tape every night but are rapidly outgrowing what I can fit on one tape.

I am thinking that I would like to setup Veeam on a second server at second site (office not DR site) that is connected to the primary office via a 10MB MPLS connection. I could then setup backup copy jobs so that I would have copies of the backups at an offsite location and then not have to back them up onto tape. Would this work? The goal here is to have an offsite copy of the backups, I have a second server at the primary site to which vm's are replicated to, its just if something happened to the primary site I'd have backup copies of the vm's offsite.

My understanding of the way the backup copy works is that the initial copy would be a full copy, so it would take some time across the 10MB MPLS connection, correct?

Is there a better way to do achieve what I want without necessarily having to upgrade to a higher Veeam license?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16867
Liked: 1429 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup copy job

Post by veremin » Feb 19, 2015 3:34 pm

You can store backups on tapes or at secondary location. Either of approaches fits into 3-2-1 picture.
My understanding of the way the backup copy works is that the initial copy would be a full copy, so it would take some time across the 10MB MPLS connection, correct?
Correct, but you can seed your backup copy job first.

Thanks.

ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Re: Backup copy job

Post by ashman70 » Feb 19, 2015 3:43 pm

So from what I gather from that post you linked to on seeding the backup copy job I would do this:

Copy the current backup copy job data to the second location, setup and configure Veeam with a new reposotiory pointing to the backup copy job data I copied from the first location, and setup new backup copy jobs ?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16867
Liked: 1429 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup copy job

Post by veremin » Feb 19, 2015 4:08 pm

Yep, copy current backup copy data, create a repository, create a new backup copy job, select the newly created repository as its target and map the job to the copied data. By the way, what product version you're using? And does you current backup copy job have GFS restore points? Thanks.

ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Re: Backup copy job

Post by ashman70 » Feb 19, 2015 6:31 pm

Veeam 8.01, how do I check if it has GFS restore points?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6970
Liked: 710 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup copy job

Post by Shestakov » Feb 20, 2015 9:25 am

You can find a corresponding label nearby GFS restore point in the GUI ("W" for weekly, "M" - monthly, etc.).
Or you can check the files in the datastore: each GFS restore point has a corresponding postfix in its file name (<filename>_WMQY.vbk), you can use this for determination.
Thanks.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16867
Liked: 1429 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup copy job

Post by veremin » Feb 20, 2015 10:11 am

And if don't happen to have GFS restore points in the backup copy chain, then, feel free to stick to the described procedure. Otherwise (if there are some GFS points), kindly, wait for patch 2, since currently backup copy job cannot be mapped to a chain containing GFS points. Thanks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18239
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backup copy job

Post by foggy » Feb 20, 2015 10:59 am

v.Eremin wrote:Otherwise (if there are some GFS points), kindly, wait for patch 2, since currently backup copy job cannot be mapped to a chain containing GFS points.
As a workaround, you can create temporary local backup copy job from the backup job and then use its new backup chain for seeding.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 37 guests