Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Backup copy jobs offsite

Post by ashman70 » Dec 07, 2014 4:07 pm

One of my customers is getting their MPLS upgraded to 10MB between sites and once this is complete, I would like to start running backup copy jobs to a remote repository. They only have the basic Backup and Replication license so no WAN accelerators or anything, will those be needed? How feasible is it to do this? Their largest VM's are 300GB and 275GB. I am already backing up, replicating and performing backup copy jobs onsite, I just want to have the data offsite as well if possible.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6970
Liked: 710 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup copy jobs offsite

Post by Shestakov » Dec 07, 2014 6:16 pm

Hello.
In my opinion, it worth to try. Even without WAN, those VMs will be compressed and deduplicated, so ultimate size of data to be transmitted will be much less than 300 or 275GB.
Also you can implement seeding and transfer over WAN only incrementals.
I would try to backup offsite to see how it works in practice. By the way, you can try free trial version of VBR with all features included to see how beneficial WAN accelerator is.
Thanks!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22965
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Backup copy jobs offsite

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 07, 2014 7:33 pm

What are your RPO intervals? How many VMs are you going to store in the offsite location? In any case, with a connection link like this, I would definitely recommend using WAN accelerators. Not only it will allow you to resume your backup copy jobs during network failure, but you will also be able to transfer less data over the WAN.

ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Re: Backup copy jobs offsite

Post by ashman70 » Dec 07, 2014 7:36 pm

Thanks Vitally, this is a new venture and since I don't know what to expect I can't tell you what my RPO is, I can tell you what I'd like it to be, but that may not be realistic. If I am going to trial the WAN accelerator, I'll have to have Veeam installed at my offsite location as well won't I?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22965
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Backup copy jobs offsite

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 07, 2014 7:54 pm

In the offsite location you will only need WAN accelerator and repository. Veeam backup installed in the main site will be managing backup copy jobs.

Check out this recorded webinar for more info > http://www.veeam.com/videos/backup-copy ... -2508.html

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Pajje and 26 guests