Backup copy - will not run

VMware specific discussions

Backup copy - will not run

Veeam Logoby fafa24 » Wed Jul 22, 2015 2:58 pm

Dear All,

I have a hard time to configure a backup copy job. The jobs sits there with "waiting for a new restore points".

The interval is set for copy every day starting at 00:00 (default). 7 restore point to keep, data transfer is direct and schedule "any time...."

I would assume when I trigger the backup job related to the backup copy job during the day, it would trigger the backup copy job.

What could be reasons that the job waits in the state "waiting for a new restore points"?

I have configured other backup copy job and the work fine.

Thanks,
fafa24
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 50
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 4:48 pm

Re: Backup copy - will not run

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Jul 22, 2015 3:00 pm

If there's a new restore point available created by the source backup job within the specified copy interval and backup copy job still doesn't start data transfer, please contact technical support for a closer look at your setup. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14743
Liked: 1081 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup copy - will not run

Veeam Logoby fafa24 » Wed Jul 22, 2015 3:20 pm

Okay, when I create a new backup copy job today at 2pm and the inverval is 1 day starting at 00:00 and I created a restore point at 4pm. Should the backup copy job being triggered?

Thanks,
fafa24
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 50
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 4:48 pm

Re: Backup copy - will not run

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Jul 22, 2015 3:21 pm

Yes.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14743
Liked: 1081 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup copy - will not run

Veeam Logoby fafa24 » Wed Jul 22, 2015 3:25 pm

Thanks - I will contact support.
fafa24
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 50
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 4:48 pm

Re: Backup copy - will not run

Veeam Logoby fafa24 » Wed Jul 22, 2015 6:41 pm 1 person likes this post

I have most likely resolved it. I had a second thought and in the backup copy Job I had specified the same repository as the normal job. I created another repository on the same server and now it runs. :)

I can even close the open technical support ticket.
fafa24
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 50
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 4:48 pm

Re: Backup copy - will not run

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Jul 22, 2015 8:10 pm

Yes, this is actually one of the most commonly seen reasons for such behavior of the backup copy job. Nice catch!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests