Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
mikegodwin
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 12, 2012 12:28 am
Full Name: Mike Godwin
Contact:

Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Post by mikegodwin » Jul 20, 2017 4:11 am

Is it possible for a Veeam backup job to process more than 4 VMs at a time? I have set the max tasks to 8 on all proxies and all repositories, and have added 8 vCPU to all proxy and repository VMs and the VBR console VM, but the job will only process 4 VMs simultaneously. I read in another thread that the concurrent tasks is the number of disks, not the number of VMs, but I checked and for instance when the job starts it shows 4 VMs being processed, and there are only 5 disks being processed in the first 4 VMs. Is there any other setting that would limit the number of VMs to 4?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6830
Liked: 696 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Post by Shestakov » Jul 20, 2017 9:45 am

Hello Mike,
You are right, number of tasks on proxy should equal number of VM disks processed simultaneously. Haven`t heard about 4 VMs limitation. What product version are you at?
Thanks!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16669
Liked: 1390 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Post by veremin » Jul 20, 2017 11:18 am

Are those VMs residing on the same datastore? If so, do you see similar symptoms?

mikegodwin
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 12, 2012 12:28 am
Full Name: Mike Godwin
Contact:

Re: Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Post by mikegodwin » Jul 20, 2017 7:54 pm

Shestakov wrote:Hello Mike,
You are right, number of tasks on proxy should equal number of VM disks processed simultaneously. Haven`t heard about 4 VMs limitation. What product version are you at?
Thanks!
We are on version 9.5.0.1038

mikegodwin
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 12, 2012 12:28 am
Full Name: Mike Godwin
Contact:

Re: Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Post by mikegodwin » Jul 20, 2017 7:58 pm

v.Eremin wrote:Are those VMs residing on the same datastore? If so, do you see similar symptoms?
Yes! The source is a VMware vSAN datastore. I will try that registry edit and report back.

mikegodwin
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 12, 2012 12:28 am
Full Name: Mike Godwin
Contact:

Re: Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Post by mikegodwin » Jul 20, 2017 8:52 pm 1 person likes this post

The registry edit works! Changing MaxSnapshotsPerDatastore in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Backup and Replication and restarting the server and it's doing more than 4 now. Thank you!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16669
Liked: 1390 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Post by veremin » Jul 21, 2017 10:27 am

Good to know. Check datastore occasionally to see whether it's not overfilled with various snapshot deltas, and lower the active snapshot number in case of positive answer. Thanks.

toreml
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 13, 2017 11:12 am
Full Name: Tore Mejlænder-Larsen
Contact:

Re: Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Post by toreml » Sep 24, 2018 12:22 pm

Is this a global setting - or could it be done different for vCenters?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18026
Liked: 1531 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Post by foggy » Sep 24, 2018 12:30 pm

Hi Tore, it's global and affects all vCenter Servers added to Veeam B&R. Thanks!

jarzi
Service Provider
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 29, 2016 1:57 pm
Full Name: Jarno Arajärvi
Contact:

Re: Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Post by jarzi » Mar 28, 2019 6:10 am

It would be really useful to be able to set it per datastore or per cluster. Now 5TB regular LUN and 100TB VSAN will have the same value.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18026
Liked: 1531 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Post by foggy » Mar 29, 2019 12:23 pm

Hi Jarno, that sounds reasonable and worth a discussion. Thanks for the feedback.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 17 guests