Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

VMware specific discussions

Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Veeam Logoby mikegodwin » Thu Jul 20, 2017 4:11 am

Is it possible for a Veeam backup job to process more than 4 VMs at a time? I have set the max tasks to 8 on all proxies and all repositories, and have added 8 vCPU to all proxy and repository VMs and the VBR console VM, but the job will only process 4 VMs simultaneously. I read in another thread that the concurrent tasks is the number of disks, not the number of VMs, but I checked and for instance when the job starts it shows 4 VMs being processed, and there are only 5 disks being processed in the first 4 VMs. Is there any other setting that would limit the number of VMs to 4?
mikegodwin
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 52
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:28 am
Full Name: Mike Godwin

Re: Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Jul 20, 2017 9:45 am

Hello Mike,
You are right, number of tasks on proxy should equal number of VM disks processed simultaneously. Haven`t heard about 4 VMs limitation. What product version are you at?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5017
Liked: 417 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Jul 20, 2017 11:18 am

Are those VMs residing on the same datastore? If so, do you see similar symptoms?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13543
Liked: 1002 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Veeam Logoby mikegodwin » Thu Jul 20, 2017 7:54 pm

Shestakov wrote:Hello Mike,
You are right, number of tasks on proxy should equal number of VM disks processed simultaneously. Haven`t heard about 4 VMs limitation. What product version are you at?
Thanks!

We are on version 9.5.0.1038
mikegodwin
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 52
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:28 am
Full Name: Mike Godwin

Re: Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Veeam Logoby mikegodwin » Thu Jul 20, 2017 7:58 pm

v.Eremin wrote:Are those VMs residing on the same datastore? If so, do you see similar symptoms?

Yes! The source is a VMware vSAN datastore. I will try that registry edit and report back.
mikegodwin
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 52
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:28 am
Full Name: Mike Godwin

Re: Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Veeam Logoby mikegodwin » Thu Jul 20, 2017 8:52 pm 1 person likes this post

The registry edit works! Changing MaxSnapshotsPerDatastore in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Backup and Replication and restarting the server and it's doing more than 4 now. Thank you!
mikegodwin
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 52
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:28 am
Full Name: Mike Godwin

Re: Backup job only processes 4 VMs at a time

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jul 21, 2017 10:27 am

Good to know. Check datastore occasionally to see whether it's not overfilled with various snapshot deltas, and lower the active snapshot number in case of positive answer. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13543
Liked: 1002 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 22 guests