Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
samuk
Expert
Posts: 127
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2009 2:15 pm
Full Name: Sam
Contact:

Backup occurring over Network

Post by samuk »

Anyone around this weekend?

Running Veeam 8, with SAN based backups. Network fail-over disabled.

The backup used to backup SAN-SAN, untill i upgraded the VC from 4.1 to 5.5 update 2.

I have recreated the Veeam backup Jobs - all backup are now according over the network - even though the proxy is set to SAN mode with network disabled.

The LUNS are present to the proxy & hosts - all was working ok before the VC upgrade?


Any idea's?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 25361
Liked: 2238 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Backup occurring over Network

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Sam,

If you have disabled failover to network mode, then your jobs should fail. How do you check if they run over the network or not?

Thank you!

samuk
Expert
Posts: 127
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2009 2:15 pm
Full Name: Sam
Contact:

Re: Backup occurring over Network

Post by samuk »

network failover is disabled..i can see the network utilization go up when it starts backup

looking at the veeam job while ruinning, it also says san

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 25361
Liked: 2238 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Backup occurring over Network

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Your backups are still done via SAN mode and no network is used to transmit VM data, however I guess what you observe has been in discussed in this thread, please take a look > network traffic using Direct SAN

Dave338
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Jan 27, 2015 12:21 pm
Full Name: David
Contact:

Re: Backup occurring over Network

Post by Dave338 » 1 person likes this post

Yes, that was me!!!! :D

You see network traffic at resource monitor but you shouldn't at task manager. That's my normal behaviour. I kept working with the "2" option and has been running fine since then.

The only case when network failover is disabled and your backup runs on network withour failing is when the VM has an IDE controller (I have one and had a good headache finding what was happening with it xD )

Regards.
Dave.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 47 guests