Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
marius roma
Expert
Posts: 433
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario
Contact:

Backup offline

Post by marius roma » Jun 18, 2012 11:47 am

I need to backup a VM offline: I don't need to use it anymore but I need to keep a copy for possible future needs.
What is the simplest way to create such kind of backup to be stored offline and reimported in case of possible future needs, using the smallest amount of time and disk space?
Regards
marius

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22553
Liked: 1480 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Backup offline

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 18, 2012 11:50 am 1 person likes this post

VeeamZIP! ;)

marius roma
Expert
Posts: 433
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario
Contact:

Re: Backup offline

Post by marius roma » Jun 18, 2012 4:00 pm

Thank you very much: it sounds great!
Let me ask two questions:
1 - given my firts need is backuin up VMs running inside my vSphere infrastructure, how can it co-exist with Veeam BR 6.x? Can I install it on the same server running Veeam BR 6.x? Should I use a separate server?
2 - given I have an ESXi (free version) Hypervisor as well (I used it before implementing vSphere and it still hosts some VM used for testing purposes), can I use VeeamZIP to save VM running on it?
Regards
marius

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22553
Liked: 1480 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Backup offline

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 18, 2012 4:07 pm 1 person likes this post

1. VeeamZIP is a feature of Veeam B&R 6.1. If you're still running 6.0, you may want to upgrade to 6.1 or install Veeam B&R free edition on the separate desktop to use VeeamZIP.
2. Please review this topic for the answer.

marius roma
Expert
Posts: 433
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario
Contact:

Re: Backup offline

Post by marius roma » Jun 18, 2012 4:16 pm

Thank you again. When you say "install Veeam B&R free edition on the separate desktop" you mean a separate host, is it correct?
Can I use a server hosting Veeam BR 6.0 Standard and another server hosting Veeam B&R free edition, both pinting to the same vSphere infrastructure without conflicts?
marius

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22553
Liked: 1480 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Backup offline

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 18, 2012 4:20 pm 1 person likes this post

1. Yes, I'm referring to a separate Windows server.
2. Yes, you can.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24197
Liked: 3309 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Backup offline

Post by Gostev » Jun 19, 2012 5:39 pm 1 person likes this post

Another question is why you want to have two installation, when you can just upgrade your existing one to 6.1, and perform VeeamZIP from there? This is actually preferred, because in the free version VeeamZIP is slightly limited on features (for example, it does not support writing to Veeam backup repositories).

marius roma
Expert
Posts: 433
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario
Contact:

Re: Backup offline

Post by marius roma » Jun 22, 2012 6:11 am

I upgraded in place my current installation from Veeam B&R 6.0 Standard to 6.1.
However, I don't see any option or menu item to use VeeamZIP: shoud I presume I made any kind of mistake?
Regards
marius

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22553
Liked: 1480 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Backup offline

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 22, 2012 7:33 am

Not, really. Just navigate to Virtual Machines view, then choose the desired VM on the right pane and then you will get VeeamZIP option. You should see VeeamZIP icon on the ribbon area on the top of the screen.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: backupquestions, Baidu [Spider] and 13 guests