BAckup on Datastore Cluster renamed

VMware specific discussions

BAckup on Datastore Cluster renamed

Veeam Logoby Andanet » Tue Feb 07, 2017 5:12 pm

Hi all,
I've a little question about a backup job on a Datastore cluster that was renamed.
The backup job provide its work without problems because the cluster UID was not changed but in "Virtual Machine" tab there is the older cluster name.
Is there the possibility to refresh the name without remove and re-add the cluster? And in this last case I need to map backup to not start a new chain from full?
Thanks

Antonio
Andanet
Service Provider
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:26 pm
Full Name: Antonio

Re: BAckup on Datastore Cluster renamed

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:58 pm

Hi Antonio,

There is no way to rename the cluster, so you have to re-add it.
Next step is to perform backups mapping, as you have mentioned already.

Alternatively, you can leave everything without changes.

Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 394
Liked: 50 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: BAckup on Datastore Cluster renamed

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Tue Feb 14, 2017 2:27 pm

For future readers: This PowerShell script. might come in handy if you have a similar situation with vCenter Server renaming. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 394
Liked: 50 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 12 guests