Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
sdybelgium@pidy.com
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 14, 2014 9:30 am
Full Name: SDY Belgium
Contact:

Backup Remote sites with veeam

Post by sdybelgium@pidy.com » Mar 14, 2014 9:39 am

Hi guys,

we are a company with 4 sites in diferent country's

on our main site we have have veeam backu & replication 6.5 and we love it.

we backup all vm's to disk and then to tape with data protector since we also have dedicated machines we still need dp :(

for our remote sites we also backup the vms with dp with one central manager

no is there a way to also central manage the backups in our mainsite and have the remote sites also backup with veeam on a storage there

on the remote sites we have free esxi 4.1

and do we need more licence for that ?

Kind Regards,

David,

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backup Remote sites with veeam

Post by foggy » Mar 14, 2014 10:51 am

sdybelgium@pidy.com wrote:no is there a way to also central manage the backups in our mainsite and have the remote sites also backup with veeam on a storage there
Yes, you can back up VMs in different locations using a single Veeam B&R console, however free ESXi is not supported (VMware Essentials is minimum supported license level).

sdybelgium@pidy.com
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 14, 2014 9:30 am
Full Name: SDY Belgium
Contact:

Re: Backup Remote sites with veeam

Post by sdybelgium@pidy.com » Mar 17, 2014 7:08 am

Ok Thanks

Lyle
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 08, 2011 5:52 pm
Full Name: Lyle Ryan

Re: Backup Remote sites with veeam

Post by Lyle » May 06, 2014 5:04 pm

We have 2 sites with reasonable bandwidth between them. There's ESX and available (older & unused) SAN at both. No need for off-site tapes at this point.

I was thinking of having one Backup Server at Site-A, where VM's at that site are backed up to the local SAN, then replicated to Site-B. The remote Site-B would have a Proxy Server backing up those VM's to that local SAN, then replicating back to Site-A.

Pretty simple approach. But is there a better way of doing this?

Thanks....Lyle

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backup Remote sites with veeam

Post by foggy » May 07, 2014 6:02 am

It is always recommended to place Veeam B&R server responsible for replication jobs at the replication target site. This allows for automatic failover/failback using Veeam B&R UI in case of DR. This could be just a separate Veeam B&R instance handling replication jobs only. (Consider using Enterprise Manager to have a visibility across both Veeam B&R servers.)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests