Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Berniebgf
Service Provider
Posts: 94
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2010 11:36 pm
Full Name: Bernard Tyers
Contact:

Backup source change

Post by Berniebgf » Nov 20, 2013 9:33 am

Hello all,

I have an environment where the Virtual Centre Server is installed on the backup server.

The VirtualCentre server has been registered within Veeam as "Localhost" and the backup jobs have been created off this entry. This has caused a number of problems so it needs to be changed.

I have registered the VirtualCentre server via its FQDN along side the existing "localhost" entry and would like to reconfigured all backup jobs from "localhost" to the "FQDN", the question is as follows

1. Can I just edit the existing jobs and remove the existing VM's from the job (registered against localhost) and then re-add them via the FQDN?
2. Would the backups continue as normal? or would new chains be created?
3. If new chains, is there an easier way to do this change?

The VM ID's should remain the same?

thanks

Bernie

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18114
Liked: 1536 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backup source change

Post by foggy » Nov 20, 2013 9:50 am

Yes, in this case re-adding VMs to jobs should not affect normal backups operation.

Berniebgf
Service Provider
Posts: 94
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2010 11:36 pm
Full Name: Bernard Tyers
Contact:

Re: Backup source change

Post by Berniebgf » Nov 20, 2013 12:23 pm

And the backup chain would continue as normal? (no need to do new full).

thanks

bernie

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18114
Liked: 1536 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backup source change

Post by foggy » Nov 20, 2013 12:38 pm

I think so, since VM IDs will be preserved. You can easily test this, anyway.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests