Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
itpau
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 10, 2018 9:48 am
Contact:

Backup Speed

Post by itpau » Jan 14, 2019 1:37 pm

Hello,

I just migrated my Veeam Server on my DR site.

I got Veeam Proxy installed on the same server that my backup repository on my main site.

Before migration, Veeam Server was on my main site and was used also as proxy and backup speed was more higher than now.

Before -> 120Mo/s
Now -> 40Mo/s

Please see diagram of my backup infrastructure :

https://ibb.co/RhywWP6

Why download speed is so lower than before ? No data transfert between my both site, correct ?

How can I improve Backup speed ?

Thanks

Regards,

ITPAU

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1743
Liked: 221 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Backup Speed

Post by DGrinev » Jan 14, 2019 1:51 pm

Hello,

Can you share the bottleneck stats before and after migration. Thanks!

itpau
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 10, 2018 9:48 am
Contact:

Re: Backup Speed

Post by itpau » Jan 14, 2019 2:04 pm

Hello,

Please found below bottleneck stats :

Before :
Load: Source 43% > Proxy 33% > Network 72% > Target 0%

After :
Load: Source 99% > Proxy 7% > Network 7% > Target 0%

Regards,

ITPAU

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1743
Liked: 221 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Backup Speed

Post by DGrinev » Jan 14, 2019 4:33 pm

Can you make sure the source proxy was used for processing.
You can find it in the session log of the job (i.e. the screenshot at the bottom of the page here). Thanks!

itpau
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 10, 2018 9:48 am
Contact:

Re: Backup Speed

Post by itpau » Jan 14, 2019 4:41 pm

Yes I confirm you that is the right proxy who is used.

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1743
Liked: 221 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Backup Speed

Post by DGrinev » Jan 14, 2019 4:49 pm

I thought the wrong proxy was used for the processing and because of that the reading speed from the source became very slow => source bottleneck.
I'd suggest you to contact the support team and let them take a closer look, because it's very hard to troubleshoot through the forum.
Please share the case ID once created, so we can track it. Thank you!

itpau
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 10, 2018 9:48 am
Contact:

Re: Backup Speed

Post by itpau » Jan 15, 2019 8:16 am 1 person likes this post

Thanks for your help.

But I confirm again, I'm sure that is the right proxy who's used.

I monitore my Bandwidth between both sites and nothing go out of my main site. So it's proof that the right proxy is used.

I gonna contact support team to be sure.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests