Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
stanyb
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Nov 24, 2010 12:09 pm
Full Name: Stanislas Borgilion
Contact:

Backup using Datastores as selection

Post by stanyb »

Hi all,
we recently changed our VM backup design. Previously we were using VM folders to select VMs in the backup job.
Now we're using VM datastores to select VMs in the backup job.
Our Veeam servers are VMs too.
Now we're experiencing problems, the ESXi host on which the Veeam servers are running, are becoming disconnected from vCenter for some reason. It must be said, when connecting to the console, it looks like the ESXi host is running well.
Does anybody experiencing the same?
Does anybody have experience selecting the VMs in backup job using the VM datastores?

thanks for your reply

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 18981
Liked: 1923 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup using Datastores as selection

Post by veremin »

Is there any correlation between time a backup occurs and time host gets disconnected? Have you checked VMware logs already? There are a lot of customers using this type of selection without any issue, and you seem to be the first one to report about host disconnection. Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 25365
Liked: 2239 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Backup using Datastores as selection

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Do you have any monitoring tool for your hosts to help with nailing down this issue?

stanyb
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Nov 24, 2010 12:09 pm
Full Name: Stanislas Borgilion
Contact:

Re: Backup using Datastores as selection

Post by stanyb »

Thanks all for reply, I didn't receive an alert that somebody replied, because of that late answer.

VMware logs were checked by VMware, they didn't found a reason.
Now it seems to be the HP-AMS module that has a memory leak. We are now redeploying our ESXi hosts with latest VMware build.
The reason for asking this is, a consultant that checked our environment said that using datatsores for backup selection isn't a good idea, but for us it's the only way to be sure that VM's in Technical Room A are backed up in Technical Room B and vice versa.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 18981
Liked: 1923 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup using Datastores as selection

Post by veremin »

It's a solid idea, when you want to make sure that no matter what all VMs (current, and those that will be added down the road) will be automatically protected by VB&R. In fact, usage of container as job source is widely spread strategy. Thanks.

stanyb
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Nov 24, 2010 12:09 pm
Full Name: Stanislas Borgilion
Contact:

Re: Backup using Datastores as selection

Post by stanyb »

Hi Vladimir,

I'm sorry for asking, do you refer with containers to the datatsores or to folders?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 20526
Liked: 1971 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backup using Datastores as selection

Post by foggy »

To any entity that has VMs under it in inventory, be it either datastore, folder, resource pool, or whatever.

stanyb
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Nov 24, 2010 12:09 pm
Full Name: Stanislas Borgilion
Contact:

Re: Backup using Datastores as selection

Post by stanyb »

Oké foggy, thx for your info.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests