Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
francescorusso
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 13, 2017 9:56 am
Full Name: Francesco Russo
Contact:

BR Size

Post by francescorusso » Jun 14, 2018 11:23 am

Hi All,

I estimated that a customer needs a BR of about 70TB to contain their backup copy.

Will it be safe to go with Windows 2016 (with/without dedupe), Dynamic disks and a big spanned volume of this size or should I suggest a DataDomain ?

KR.
Francesco

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 2953
Liked: 511 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BR Size

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jun 14, 2018 12:17 pm

There are multiple options but spanned volumes aren´t one of them because the performance is really bad.

You have the option to do the following:
1) Standard Server with good Raid Controller (MS HCL) and disks. Like Cisco s3260, HPE Apollo and all the other standard Servers.
2) A standard Storage System... Like HPE 3PAR, NetApp E-Series, Unity/SC/..., IBM StoreWize
3) A filer
4) A deduplication device like HPE StoreOnce/Exagrid/Datadomain/HPE Nimble SFA
5) other files/block based storages

Beside the dedup devices you should not use any kind of deduplication outside of Veeam.
For block volumes you can use ReFS instead of NTFS to use fast block cloning technology for merges and GFS full processing.

As it is secondary storage, I would go with the best price/capacity one from the above.

francescorusso
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 13, 2017 9:56 am
Full Name: Francesco Russo
Contact:

Re: BR Size

Post by francescorusso » Jun 14, 2018 2:38 pm

Hi Andreas,

thanks for your reply.

If I go for your option 1 and use Cisco s3260 with 70TB of disks (Jbod) I will still have to configure a volume in Windows, are you suggesting to configure a uniqe 70TB ReFS volume instead of a snappned volume ?

KR,
Francesco

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 2953
Liked: 511 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BR Size

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jun 14, 2018 2:42 pm

correct.

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 2953
Liked: 511 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BR Size

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jun 14, 2018 2:43 pm 1 person likes this post

Use Raid50 (5+1) or Raid 60 (5+2) at best.
Don´t build a single Raid 5 or Raid 6 out of all disks.

francescorusso
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 13, 2017 9:56 am
Full Name: Francesco Russo
Contact:

Re: BR Size

Post by francescorusso » Jun 14, 2018 2:46 pm

Any suggestion w.r.t HD types, i.e SATA, SAS, NLSAS, SSD SATA for the BR ?

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 2953
Liked: 511 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BR Size

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jun 14, 2018 2:48 pm 1 person likes this post

This depends mainly what the vendors and partner supports and suggest. Usually for Backup Copy Job targets Nearline SAS disks (7,2k / 10k) or bigger SAS disks (10k) are used.

francescorusso
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 13, 2017 9:56 am
Full Name: Francesco Russo
Contact:

Re: BR Size

Post by francescorusso » Jun 14, 2018 3:33 pm

Many thanks.
KR,
Francesco

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chris.lokken and 28 guests