Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
aeccles
Enthusiast
Posts: 80
Liked: 6 times
Joined: May 01, 2012 3:00 pm
Contact:

Can I remap a job to backup copy data?

Post by aeccles » Apr 28, 2014 4:55 pm

I have a Windows server at two locations (Main office and Data center) that is dedicated to running veeam and storing backup files.
At my primary site, I backup locally and then use a backup copy job to push the data to the "Backup Copy Repository" at the data center.

In the event of a disaster, I would restore the Veeam Database, rescan the repository, and then recovery my servers

Once that is done, I'm going to want to get my veeam backups running again. Can I remap the imported jobs to the backup copy repository or do I have to create new backup jobs?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Can I remap a job to backup copy data?

Post by foggy » Apr 28, 2014 8:46 pm

Yes, you can map the jobs to the existing backup files.

aeccles
Enthusiast
Posts: 80
Liked: 6 times
Joined: May 01, 2012 3:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Can I remap a job to backup copy data?

Post by aeccles » Apr 28, 2014 9:00 pm

That great - I thought the backup copy process might create a different type of file in some way that would prevent this process. Really cool feature.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Can I remap a job to backup copy data?

Post by foggy » Apr 28, 2014 9:28 pm

Backup files created by the backup copy job have the same format (VBK).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests