Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
frigomiam
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Nov 25, 2014 3:47 pm
Full Name: frigo miam
Contact:

Can I use replica mapping with consolidated VM ?

Post by frigomiam » Dec 03, 2014 4:03 pm

Hi All,

I started already 1 topic for related issue, but facing now a new challenge.

Veeam B&Rv7,
Replication job setup to DRSite using replica mapping.
At 1 stage, I had to delete from disk some replica VMs.

Now to get them back to my DR datastore, I did a vsphere copy in browse datastore, from 1 datastore to another. The source datastore actually contains same replica VMs created with another veeam replication job.

This copy in vsphere performs automatically snapshot consolidation. Result is that my new replica VMs are now pointing to only 1 vmdk.

Can I map these new replicas to my replication job ?

thanks
francois

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23067
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Can I use replica mapping with consolidated VM ?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 03, 2014 4:15 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Francois,

You can map replication job to existing VMs and it doesn't matter whether they have snapshots or not. During mapping procedure, all snapshots will be consolidated automatically and then new restore points will be created.

Thanks!

frigomiam
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Nov 25, 2014 3:47 pm
Full Name: frigo miam
Contact:

Re: Can I use replica mapping with consolidated VM ?

Post by frigomiam » Dec 03, 2014 5:24 pm

that's great, will update on the result

frigomiam
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Nov 25, 2014 3:47 pm
Full Name: frigo miam
Contact:

Re: Can I use replica mapping with consolidated VM ?

Post by frigomiam » Dec 04, 2014 10:33 am 1 person likes this post

this worked perfectly, thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], tgietz and 27 guests