Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

can't backup Win8/win7

Post by jamerson » Jun 27, 2014 11:31 pm

hi guys
i know the reason of this problem why veeam doens't backup Win8/Win7,
the issues is the C$ not available on both machines.
any suggestions to force Veeam to backup the VMs up ?

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5418
Liked: 2240 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: can't backup Win8/win7

Post by tsightler » Jun 27, 2014 11:57 pm

Veeam can backup Windows 7 or 8 VMs just fine, heck, Veeam can even be installed on those operating systems. If you're having trouble getting the VMs to backup then what specifically is the error you are getting? Since you mentioned C$ shares I have a guess it's something to do with AAIP/VSS but I don't want to go down that path until I understand specifically what you are seeing.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: can't backup Win8/win7

Post by jamerson » Jun 28, 2014 9:36 pm

tsightler wrote:Veeam can backup Windows 7 or 8 VMs just fine, heck, Veeam can even be installed on those operating systems. If you're having trouble getting the VMs to backup then what specifically is the error you are getting? Since you mentioned C$ shares I have a guess it's something to do with AAIP/VSS but I don't want to go down that path until I understand specifically what you are seeing.
Thank you sir for your answer,
the error i am recieving is the :

Code: Select all

6/28/2014 11:32:55 PM :: Processing 'Win 8.1' Error: Failed to connect to guest agent. Errors:
'Cannot connect to the host's administrative share. Host:  [192.168.3.10]. Account: [].
Win32 error:The network path was not found.
 Code: 53
Cannot connect to the host's administrative share. Host:  [fe80::42b:aade:abe:8bff]. Account: [].
Win32 error:The network path was not found.
 Code: 53
'

Fixed :
People with the same error !
check your firewall rules if it allows the connections between the backup server and the client machine !

thank you so much

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: can't backup Win8/win7

Post by jamerson » Jun 29, 2014 9:51 am

i was looking on the wrong vCenter ,
the error i am getting is the next :

Code: Select all

 Processing 'VM1' Error: Client error: VDDK error: 6473963119050753.Unknown error Exception from server: VDDK error: 6473963119050753.Unknown error Unable to retrieve next block transmission command. Number of already processed blocks: [3232]. Failed to perform data backup. 

Code: Select all

Guest processing skipped (check VMware Tools status)
Error: Client error: VDDK error: 6473963119050753.Unknown error Exception from server: VDDK error: 6473963119050753.Unknown error Unable to retrieve next block transmission command. Number of already processed blocks: [3232]. Failed to perform data backup.
any suggestions why ?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: can't backup Win8/win7

Post by foggy » Jun 29, 2014 12:49 pm

Julien, with every technical issue it is always more effective to communicate with support directly.

Btw, here's the topic regarding "next block transmission" error, might be helpful.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: can't backup Win8/win7

Post by jamerson » Jun 29, 2014 1:22 pm

foggy wrote:Julien, with every technical issue it is always more effective to communicate with support directly.

Btw, here's the topic regarding "next block transmission" error, might be helpful.
Thank you sir,
this is not on a production, but on a Lab, that why i didn't contact the technical.
just wanna know what is the reason, to add to my knowlidge.
unstable connection is not because both server and clients are on 10GB, and no down connection all been tested.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: can't backup Win8/win7

Post by foggy » Jun 29, 2014 1:29 pm

While all possible reasons are outlined in the mentioned topic, the actual reason can only be defined after reviewing the logs.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16892
Liked: 1434 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: can't backup Win8/win7

Post by veremin » Jun 30, 2014 8:23 am

just wanna know what is the reason, to add to my knowlidge.
As mentioned in the referenced thread, if the number of processed blocks keeps being the same, then, the problem might be a corruption of source .vmdk. As a workaround, you can try to clone the given VM, run off the clone, and see whether the issue shows up again or not.

Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 31 guests