Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
defrogger
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 30, 2011 10:16 pm
Full Name: Mike Yesko
Contact:

Can the Backup Proxy server be the same as the Backup Server

Post by defrogger » Jun 24, 2013 8:18 pm

hello, im new to Veeam, im setting up a client with version 6.5 for vmware. They have a very simple setup. One Esxi vmware 5 host which is licensed with Vmware essentials. Its only running 3 VM's and those will need to be backed up.

The instructions im reading says a Veeam backup Server and a Veeam Proxy server will be needed. I was wasnt planning on two servers being needed license wise.

Can I use the Veeam backup server as the porxy server, or do they have to be seperate? Otherwise i would have to buy another 2012 server license, I know I get 2 vm licenses per license but ive used them up.

If not, i see that the minumum requirements says you can use Windows 7 or XP as the proxy, I can always setup a spare pc as the Proxy but im wondering if it really should be setup as a server? Any thoughts

Thanks
Mike

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5683
Liked: 1603 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Can the Backup Proxy server be the same as the Backup Se

Post by dellock6 » Jun 24, 2013 8:56 pm 1 person likes this post

Yes you can, in fact all the Veeam roles (server, proxy and repository) are installed by default on the same server. The scale-out design is something you add later, but I think in your environment a single server holding all the roles is enough for sure.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

defrogger
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 30, 2011 10:16 pm
Full Name: Mike Yesko
Contact:

Re: Can the Backup Proxy server be the same as the Backup Se

Post by defrogger » Jun 24, 2013 9:09 pm

Thanks, thats good news, Ill get it installed and try it out.

Mike

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18021
Liked: 1530 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Can the Backup Proxy server be the same as the Backup Se

Post by foggy » Jun 25, 2013 7:51 am

defrogger wrote:If not, i see that the minumum requirements says you can use Windows 7 or XP as the proxy, I can always setup a spare pc as the Proxy but im wondering if it really should be setup as a server? Any thoughts
And the following post will address your second question, please review.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests