Can you Endpoint backup a repository server to itself?

VMware specific discussions

Can you Endpoint backup a repository server to itself?

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Mon May 23, 2016 9:41 am

[I wasn't sure whether to post here on in the Endpoint forum as both are associated with my question but I thought I'd try here first.]

I am finalising our transition away from Backup Exec having moved our last few physical servers to Endpoint Backups to a physical Veeam repository server. This server is also our Backup Exec server & so has the tape library attached to it (as well as direct FC-attach to VMFS etc.)

This server also used to serve as a "dumping ground" file server which we're also transitioning away from but I now want to plan to complete the move away from BExec & so need a plan for backing up the system volume of this server to aid speedy recovery from a potential crash of this server.

I was hoping I might be able to install Endpoint on it, configured to back-up only the C: drive, but send it to the Veeam repository that happens to be itself. Is this feasible or will it leave me in a Matrix / Inception scenario? ;-)

If it can't work, what to folks around here use to back-up their physical repository server?

I know I could just do a backup to disk & then files to tape etc. but I *REALLY* want to be able to utilise the ability to (efficiently) copy the backups off-site.
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 504
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: Can you Endpoint backup a repository server to itself?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon May 23, 2016 1:02 pm

Hi Paul,

If this repository is located on another volume, then you should be able to choose it in Veeam Endpoint backup job wizard.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Can you Endpoint backup a repository server to itself?

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Mon May 23, 2016 1:19 pm

Thanks Vitaliy, It is on another volume so I shall give it a try & report back...
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 504
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: Can you Endpoint backup a repository server to itself?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon May 23, 2016 4:43 pm

Ok, just a small correction to my previous post - it will even work if you backup to the same volume that is specified as a source for the backup job, however please be aware that VEB backup files will be excluded from the backup job automatically.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Can you Endpoint backup a repository server to itself?

Veeam Logoby ober72 » Wed May 25, 2016 7:57 pm

Hi Guys,

Yes this works, although when doing it to the same volume I had to use file level endpoint and not volume level it gave me errors. Mind you I did not spend much time investigating since file level did the trick.
Geoff Burke
VMCE V9
ober72
Service Provider
 
Posts: 263
Liked: 38 times
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:10 pm
Location: CANADA
Full Name: Geoff Burke

Re: Can you Endpoint backup a repository server to itself?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu May 26, 2016 11:37 am

ober72, out of curiosity - what was the error message in case of using volume level backup?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Can you Endpoint backup a repository server to itself?

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Fri May 27, 2016 3:15 pm 1 person likes this post

I can confirm that I've just completed the initial full (volume level) backup to the repository hosted on itself with no issues.

Happy days! :)
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 504
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: Can you Endpoint backup a repository server to itself?

Veeam Logoby ober72 » Fri May 27, 2016 3:47 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:ober72, out of curiosity - what was the error message in case of using volume level backup?

I will have to go back and look, off the top of my head it was a timeout strangely enough even though it had started moving data.

cheers
Geoff Burke
VMCE V9
ober72
Service Provider
 
Posts: 263
Liked: 38 times
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:10 pm
Location: CANADA
Full Name: Geoff Burke

Re: Can you Endpoint backup a repository server to itself?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri May 27, 2016 4:19 pm

Ok, then it must be unrelated to the fact that you've selected the same volume. Thanks for going back for the error message details.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], larry and 22 guests