Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

cant restore

Post by hyvokar » Jun 27, 2019 7:05 pm

Doing an emergency restore here.
Trying to restore full vm.

Getting an error
27.6.2019 22:03:21 Error Restore job failed Error: Invalid datastore path '[SC3020-SAS_High_1]'.

Where to start troubleshooting?
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by hyvokar » Jun 27, 2019 7:14 pm

Restoring vhds only seem to be working
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

skrause
Expert
Posts: 438
Liked: 91 times
Joined: Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by skrause » Jun 27, 2019 8:34 pm

That error usually occurs when the original datastore location is not accessible to the host which Veeam is using to do the restore.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by hyvokar » Jun 28, 2019 8:27 am

Shouldn't it be accessible if restoring virtual hard disks work? I mean they are in same datastore no matter which way you are doing the restore.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by foggy » Jun 28, 2019 12:02 pm

Contacting support is typically more effective in such emergency cases.

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by hyvokar » Jun 28, 2019 12:52 pm

My first step was to contact support yesterday. I still have not heard from them.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by foggy » Jun 28, 2019 1:45 pm

Have you mentioned the urgency? What is the case ID number?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24789
Liked: 3523 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by Gostev » Jun 28, 2019 3:40 pm

hyvokar wrote:
Jun 28, 2019 12:52 pm
My first step was to contact support yesterday. I still have not heard from them.
I've reviewed the case and apparently the case severity was lowered from 1 to 3, which made the case move from the SWAT queue to the regular queue. Which explains why it takes longer for them to contact you. I can't see if it was you or Veeam staff making this change? In any case, I asked the support management to review this case.

m_zolkin
Veeam Software
Posts: 26
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Aug 26, 2009 1:13 pm
Full Name: Mikhail Zolkin
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by m_zolkin » Jul 02, 2019 11:34 am

hyvokar wrote:
Jun 28, 2019 12:52 pm
My first step was to contact support yesterday. I still have not heard from them.
We've been trying to reach out to you by both email and phone with no luck. Let us know through the ticket if you still need our help with this.
VP, WW Customer Technical Support

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by hyvokar » Jul 29, 2019 2:39 pm

Hi,

Back from a vacation.
I was able to restore the virtual hard disk, which at the moment was good-enough solution and after that lowered the case severity.

Support has identified the problem - you cannot do the restore, if the VM disks are distributed among different datastores. There are no fix planned at the moment.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by foggy » Jul 30, 2019 10:44 am 1 person likes this post

Seems you are talking about storage snapshots integration then since this limitation is specific to restores from storage snapshots, not regular backup files. Moreover, this limitation was removed in Veeam B&R 9.5 U4 and since then VMs having disks on multiple datastores are fully supported.

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by hyvokar » Jul 31, 2019 6:57 am

Hi,
Nope, we are not using storage snapshots.

I've just upgraded from U4a to U4b. I'll try to reproduce the problem if I can find some time to do it with a dummy machine.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by hyvokar » Sep 02, 2019 2:34 pm

Hi,

I tested the backup & restore today with 9.5 u4b.

The restore now works without errors, but all the disks are restored in the same datastore, even if they were in different datastores before backup.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by foggy » Sep 02, 2019 2:42 pm 1 person likes this post


hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by hyvokar » Sep 03, 2019 6:06 am

Thanks, I'll try that.

Wouldn't it be logical to restore disks to their original locations when using default settings?
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by hyvokar » Sep 03, 2019 8:59 am

Restore to the original location
"Quickly initiate the restore of selected VM to it's *original location*, with the original name and *settings*. This option minimizes the change of user input error."

Either the description is wrong or there a bug in a restore process.

Restore to the original location does not give you an option to select (original) datastore(s).
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by foggy » Sep 03, 2019 3:03 pm

Indeed, during restore to the original location, all VM disks are placed on the datastore where VMX file resides. In this case, the description might be confusing (though it doesn't tell anything about disks placement).

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24789
Liked: 3523 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by Gostev » Sep 03, 2019 6:30 pm

@foggy that would be a bug, let's fix in v10. All disks must go to their original location... current behavior is non-sense. Likely this simply broke at some point, and no one noticed.

This quite critical, as it renders all our self-service restore portals useless.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: cant restore

Post by foggy » Sep 04, 2019 4:49 pm

Checked with QA, this is already addressed in v10.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests