CBT reset issue

VMware specific discussions

CBT reset issue

Veeam Logoby jamerson » Mon Nov 30, 2015 8:36 pm

After i tried to run the script on the host , i get the below no VM been detected.Image
jamerson
Expert
 
Posts: 257
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien

Re: CBT reset issue

Veeam Logoby thuizenga » Mon Nov 30, 2015 8:39 pm

jamerson wrote:After i tried to run the script on the host , i get the below no VM been detected.

Assuming you typed in the correct name when it asked you, was your virtual machine both powered on and free of snapshots?
thuizenga
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 2:00 am
Full Name: Travis h

Re: CBT reset issue

Veeam Logoby jamerson » Mon Nov 30, 2015 8:41 pm

yes VM's are on .
I've logged with the root password.
jamerson
Expert
 
Posts: 257
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien

Re: CBT reset issues

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Nov 30, 2015 10:12 pm

jamerson wrote:After i tried to run the script

Which script are you trying? There are a few of them available.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

[MERGED] Question

Veeam Logoby jamerson » Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:36 pm

a Question, I have a VM with two disks.
on the step 4 of the tutorial https://www.veeam.com/kb1113
4. Set the all of the "scsi0:x.ctkEnabled" values to false
do I have to it for both disk ?
SCSI0:0.ctkEnabled
SCSI0:1.ctkEnabled
and delete both ctk.vdk files ?
jamerson
Expert
 
Posts: 257
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien

Re: CBT reset issue

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:44 pm

Correct, set on both disks and delete both CTK files.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: CBT reset issue

Veeam Logoby jamerson » Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:50 pm

just did , I saw the ctk file were deleted after I turn the vm they didn't comes back,
now a new backup is running. how do I know the backup is not corrupted ?
jamerson
Expert
 
Posts: 257
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien

Re: CBT reset issue

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:52 pm

You could perform a test restore, for example.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: CBT reset issue

Veeam Logoby jamerson » Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:54 pm

restore file or entire VM ? when there is a cbt file with the VM on the data store means the VM is affected by the CBT issue ?

thank you
jamerson
Expert
 
Posts: 257
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien

Re: CBT reset issue

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Dec 01, 2015 12:19 am

Julien, please do not quote the immediate post you are replying to in its entirety (this is a basic forum etiquette). There is no use in doing this, moreover it trashes the topic with constant repeats, making it hard to read.

Normally, to perform full recoverability testing properly, you'd want to restore the entire VM, power it on in the isolated network, wait until it boots up, and check if all applications are functioning correctly. Then, perform integrity checks for file system (using chkdsk) and for application databases (using application-specific integrity testing tools).

CBT file presence on the data store is normal, this is where CBT engine stores the map of changed blocks.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: CBT reset issue

Veeam Logoby jamerson » Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:28 pm 1 person likes this post

thank you
restore test has been applied and everything seems to work.
jamerson
Expert
 
Posts: 257
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: heavy and 32 guests