Changed Block Tracking

VMware specific discussions

Changed Block Tracking

Veeam Logoby Baldy27 » Thu Jul 28, 2016 1:45 pm

Hi,

When i am processing a backup i get the error "Changed Block tracking can not be enabled, one or more snapshots preset."

Only 1 VM from 11 in that batch has this issue.

Any ideas?

Thanks
Baldy27
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:39 pm
Full Name: Chris Baldwin

Re: Changed Block Tracking

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Jul 28, 2016 1:47 pm

Chris, does this VM have any existing snapshots? If yes, you need to consolidate it to enable CBT.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Changed Block Tracking

Veeam Logoby Baldy27 » Thu Jul 28, 2016 1:47 pm

Sorry im now to Veeam, where would the existing snapshots be located?
Baldy27
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:39 pm
Full Name: Chris Baldwin

Re: Changed Block Tracking

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Jul 28, 2016 1:49 pm 1 person likes this post

Right-click the VM in vSphere client and open Snapshot Manager to view existing snapshots.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Changed Block Tracking

Veeam Logoby Baldy27 » Thu Jul 28, 2016 1:51 pm

Nice one, i've consolidated them, just going to rerun the. Job
Baldy27
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:39 pm
Full Name: Chris Baldwin

Re: Changed Block Tracking

Veeam Logoby Baldy27 » Thu Jul 28, 2016 2:25 pm

Consolidated the Snapshots but still get the same error
Baldy27
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:39 pm
Full Name: Chris Baldwin

Re: Changed Block Tracking

Veeam Logoby Baldy27 » Thu Jul 28, 2016 2:56 pm

Deleted totally now, re running :)
Baldy27
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:39 pm
Full Name: Chris Baldwin

Re: Changed Block Tracking

Veeam Logoby Baldy27 » Wed Aug 03, 2016 2:38 pm

Thanks for the advise, this worked perfect.

Quick question ...

If a Snapshot is taken of the VM, then our backup runs and gives us the Warning "Changed Block tracking can not be enabled, one or more snapshots preset."

Does this mean a full backup of the VM was performed, therefore taking more space up on our server ?
Baldy27
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:39 pm
Full Name: Chris Baldwin

Re: Changed Block Tracking

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Aug 03, 2016 2:43 pm 1 person likes this post

Does this mean a full backup of the VM was performed, therefore taking more space up on our server ?

Nope, it only illustrates the fact that our own proprietary mechanism has been used to detect changes. Since it needs to scan a whole VM, backup time will be increased. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 12 guests