Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
gsubhash@in.rm.com
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 11, 2018 12:39 pm
Full Name: Genesh Subhash
Contact:

Changing IP

Post by gsubhash@in.rm.com »

Hi all,

I am planning to move to a new building with a better infrastructure, this includes changing the IP of my Veeam backup servers, repositories, ESXi servers, VM's and Vcenter. Will my existing jobs work once I change the IP's or do I need to reconfigure anything.

bdufour
Expert
Posts: 206
Liked: 41 times
Joined: Nov 01, 2017 8:52 pm
Full Name: blake dufour
Contact:

Re: Changing IP

Post by bdufour »

if youre using DNS properly, changing the IPs shouldnt affect anything - as everything should be using DNS, not IPs. just make sure DNS is updated to reflect the ip changes. although, you may want to open a support case with vmware - bc if you change the ip address of vcenter (6.x) and u deployed using an ip address, im pretty sure you will have to regenerate the ssl cert (and that still may not be enough to get you up and running) or redeploy - regardless id get with vmware before you pull the trigger on vcenter.

from my experience with vmware support -

Hello Blake,

Thank you for your time on call.

Please find the summary of call below :

Regarding the query for changing the IP address of appliance , please know the following information :

The vCenter is deployed with a system name during the deployment .

This system can be either the FQDN or IP address of the vCenter.

This system becomes the PNID of the vCenter and gets locked .

There is no way to change the PNID of the vCenter apart from redeployment.

If your vCenter was deployed with the IP address , then there is no way to change that .

The following Kb is a reference for this information :
https://kb.vmware.com/s/article/2130599

csydas
Expert
Posts: 193
Liked: 47 times
Joined: Jan 16, 2018 5:14 pm
Full Name: Harvey Carel
Contact:

Re: Changing IP

Post by csydas »

Hi Genesh,

There's a KB on this if you do need to manually update some managed servers in Veeam: https://www.veeam.com/kb1905

It's very simple, and has been a life-saver for me quite a few times.

gsubhash@in.rm.com
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 11, 2018 12:39 pm
Full Name: Genesh Subhash
Contact:

Re: Changing IP

Post by gsubhash@in.rm.com »

Thanks, Maybe a stupid question, Is it possible to backup a host or a VM without a vcenter?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17745
Liked: 1612 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Changing IP

Post by veremin »

You cannot backup physical ESXi host, but you can backup VMs residing on it, with or without vCenter. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests